We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“La dolce vita!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe del Sol Classico

Cafe del Sol Classico
Ranked #2 of 1,146 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“La dolce vita!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This little piece of heaven tucked away in a little shopping centre in Olivedale is a gem of delicious food, fine service and a warm inviting ambience. I had the beef wellington which was cooked to perfection. My colleagues ordered various gnocchis and ravioli and it turns out, it was just like 'mamma use to make'. Italiano resonates through every pore and indulgence reins supreme. You have to try this place or you haven't lived! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    181
    39
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Festive Celebration with style and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a fabulous evening. We certanily had to make a booking as we can now understand why this restaurant is ranked so high on Trip Advisor. Our waiter was a delight with an excellent sense of homour as he as serving nine fussy girls for our book club dinner. He was on top form and managed to get all the drink orders correct without even writing it down. The main meals were delicious and unusal combinations. We received quick service. This is truly a gem of a restaurant. Thanks for making our book club Christmas dinner a festive celebration!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The rudest most unfriendly maitre de I have ever dealt with”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rudest most unfriendly maitre de I have ever dealt with. What a load of rubbish!
I will never ever go back and recommend that everyone avoid this venue

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RubenF85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Have always had great meals here. Staff well informed and keen to provide an excellent service. If squid heads are your favourite, and they should be here, order early as they are very popular.

The restaurant can get quite noisy, try get a table in the annex area which is a bit quieter.

Helpful?
Thank Croixant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
1 review
“Sensuality on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been dining at CDS for a while and it just keeps on getting better and better. There is a lot to be said for a business that is family owned and run, hands on, always there. In my opinion one of the best if not THE best in Johannesburg. Go and be amazed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Sol Classico also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe del Sol Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing