We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but not Italian.”

Cafe del Sol Classico
Ranked #1 of 1,204 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not Italian.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was hoping for more when I visited this restaurant. I was not dissapointed but reading the reviews my expectations may have been raised too high. The food is good but cannot be called Italian. It is more fine dining then anything else. Service is good and the owners are hands on. Prices are high, but not rediculous considering the portion sizes and the quality. Ambience is fine. I may return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    195
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“STUNNING!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

the BEST waiters-the Best service and the most awsome food..i honestly felt that what i had ordered was made especially for me..the BEST RESTAURANT in Johannesburg

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food...”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had lunch today in Cafe del Sol. Although we arrived at 2:45 pm, right before the kitchen closed, they professionally and politely accomodated us and provided a very friendly service. Moreover, the food was just delicious. All of us loved our choices, mainly pasta and risotto. I will sure go back to enjoy the risotto porcini... probably the best one in town. Thanks!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best restaurant near Olivedale Clinic”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have eaten two meals here (one dinner and one lunch).

The food is fresh and tasty.

The manager/staff are pleasant and well-informed.

The pricing is in keeping with the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - again”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went back to Cafe del Soul for a second time. I had booked my companies year end function there in November last year when I was called a week before by the restaurant and told they could "no longer accommodate us as they have a large booking" so we had stayed away because of their attitude.

Again the food was fantastic and the service was excellent. You pay top dollar to eat there but you get what you pay for. If you haven't been, take your significant other for a special occasion - you wont regret it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moose-JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Sol Classico also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe del Sol Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing