We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, delicious food, and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg
Ranked #30 of 278 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent room, delicious food, and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While we only stayed at Uxolo for one night, it was a great experience. The room was comfortable, well maintained, and quiet. The food was delicious and had a nice variety. The best part of the entire stay was the staff - they are terrific. Very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
18
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Uxolo, located in a quiet and quaint neighborhood in The Gardens area of suburban Johannesburg. Karen, the proprietor could not have been nicer and the staff were all kind and helpful!! The price was so reasonable and the accommodations so delightful that we would go out of our way to stay here again!! And don't forget the delicious breakfast and lovely grounds!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance as they stay busy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is most definitely the one of the best guest house I have ever stayed in. The service was fantastic. All the staff were always on hand if needed, and made me feel at home. Great location, close to nice restaurants and shopping mall. Exquisite is the only word to describe this guest house and the wonderful staff. I highly recommend Uxolo guesthouse.

Kudos to Karen and your team!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I strongly recommend Uxolo to everyone who is traveling to Johannesburg. We stayed here from 22 - 24 sep 2012, I hope we could have stayed longer. Karen was very warm, helpful and kind to us. She gave me a lot of good advices before our trip. Before we got there, Karen was so helpful and she arranged almost everything for us such as transportation and tour guide. When we reached her lovely place, our room and the entire place were so clean, neat and comfortable. The area was very safe and convenient. There was a wide variety of choices for our breakfast and it was delicious. Rabson, the house keeper, he volunteered to help us to get the SA electrical plug as we had no time to get it. People who worked in this place were very friendly and helpful.

On the day we checked out, Karen packed some food for our long drive to make sure we won't get hungry on the road. Even after we left the place, Karen and Rabson were still showing concerns for the rest of our trip by texting us. I wish I have a better word to describe their hospitality. I give a double thumbs up for the overall experience!

Room Tip: We stayed at the room called "The Marriage of Precious and Richard" and it was spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank princessuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned to the States from my very first trip to South Africa. What an amazing place! I am so grateful for all of the beautiful and inspirational places I’ve seen and the wonderful people I’ve met along my journey. I owe the biggest “THANK YOU” and many hugs to my new friends at Uxolo Guest House! Uxolo in Johannesburg was the first stop on our journey throughout South Africa. Karen Morgan and her staff- Thando, Rabeson, Bonnie & Ella went over and beyond to make us feel like family. We had an incredible, full breakfast every morning, our rooms were picture perfect, filled with all we needed to relax and get comfy. We received many suggestions on how to get around the city and must see places to visit-including shopping, dining & typical tourist sites. Each and every one of these guys fussed over us and made sure we were having an enjoyable and memorable time AND after each adventure, they were waiting to hear all about it. I can’t thank Karen, Thando, Rabeson and Bonnie enough for all they did to contribute to us having the best trip ever. Can’t wait to get back to JoBurg- will definitely be staying with these guys again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKeyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in late September and early October with family & friends and had an amazing time! From the warm greeting at the door from Thando, Bonnie & Rabeson- the staff that helped with the smallest of requests to Karen the owner who went above and beyond to make our stay a comfortable and memorable one:-) The guesthouse is very peaceful, which belies the name and is close to the mall, Rosebank a nearby area with great restaurants and a fantastic African flea mart. The guesthouse has an interesting history as a former safehouse and the architecture and decor is amazing, plus it is nearby to anything you need. Karen & her staff made our first trip to South Africa a memorable one and I would highly recommend it for families, couples or solo travellers as we found all we encountered to be extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to revel in this serene and warm guesthouse!

Room Tip: All of the warms were nice, we stayed in the Marula room which had its own private courtyard, sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Uxolo for two nights following a family vacation/business trip to South Africa. The warm, cozy, welcoming atmosphere was just what we needed as we settled in to explore Johannesburg and surrounding areas. Uxolo is a delightful, charming retreat with stylish, tasteful furnishings. The guesthouse has several cozy spaces to curl up and read (great selection of books) as well as gardens and courtyards to explore. The staff go out of their way to provide small personal touches throughout the stay. We especially appreciated Karen's help in finding guided tours as well as offering directions and guidance as we made our way about the area and surrounding cities. Breakfast is fabulous and served in a protected courtyard adjacent to the pool and BBQ area - a fabulous way to start each day. Our only regret was not being able to stay for two additional days as the guesthouse was fully booked.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.5 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#2 of 278 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#11 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mediterranean
The Mediterranean
#169 of 278 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#3 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#5 of 278 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg

Property: Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg
Address: 22 Nursery Road | The Gardens., Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a quiet, tranquil garden setting, Uxolo assures guests of superb comfort and service. Not only are we a B&B, but offer lunch & dinner on an a la carte basis in our rustic bistro type restaurant. Sleep in ultra comfort in our extra king sized, plush mattressed. beds. Join the happy guests who return again & again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uxolo Guesthouse Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing