We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality & value!”
Review of Uxolo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uxolo Guesthouse
Ranked #125 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in late September and early October with family & friends and had an amazing time! From the warm greeting at the door from Thando, Bonnie & Rabeson- the staff that helped with the smallest of requests to Karen the owner who went above and beyond to make our stay a comfortable and memorable one:-) The guesthouse is very peaceful, which belies the name and is close to the mall, Rosebank a nearby area with great restaurants and a fantastic African flea mart. The guesthouse has an interesting history as a former safehouse and the architecture and decor is amazing, plus it is nearby to anything you need. Karen & her staff made our first trip to South Africa a memorable one and I would highly recommend it for families, couples or solo travellers as we found all we encountered to be extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back to revel in this serene and warm guesthouse!

Room Tip: All of the warms were nice, we stayed in the Marula room which had its own private courtyard, sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Uxolo for two nights following a family vacation/business trip to South Africa. The warm, cozy, welcoming atmosphere was just what we needed as we settled in to explore Johannesburg and surrounding areas. Uxolo is a delightful, charming retreat with stylish, tasteful furnishings. The guesthouse has several cozy spaces to curl up and read (great selection of books) as well as gardens and courtyards to explore. The staff go out of their way to provide small personal touches throughout the stay. We especially appreciated Karen's help in finding guided tours as well as offering directions and guidance as we made our way about the area and surrounding cities. Breakfast is fabulous and served in a protected courtyard adjacent to the pool and BBQ area - a fabulous way to start each day. Our only regret was not being able to stay for two additional days as the guesthouse was fully booked.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a fantastic little guesthouse. We stayed here for the first two nights of a two-week trip across South Africa. It's a small establishment but the staff is super friendly and we were very happy with the service.
The building itself was tastefully designed and our room was very comfortable. The common areas, including a breakfast terrace and a billiards room, were beautiful (though our schedule didn't allow us much time to enjoy these facilities). Breakfast was delicious and made-to-order... it made getting out of the warm comfortable bed just a little bit easier.
However, best part of the stay was Karen, the owner. She was so friendly and went far out of her way to help us. She gave us planning tips for things to see in Joburg, bought us a SIM card for our mobile phone, dropped us off at the Gautrain station when we needed a ride, showed us around the neighborhood (including Nelson Mandela's residence), and even took my friend and I out to dinner with her husband on our last night in town. I have stayed in many B+Bs and small hotels across the world, but have never had this level of personalized service.
Location was good. It's in a residential neighborhood about a 5-minute drive from the Rosbank Gautrain Station, which gets you to the airport and also into Downtown Joburg. We had a car most of the time, which allowed us to get around easily to the central city and suburbs, but you would be fine here with just a cab.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough. If I ever return to Joburg, I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - the hotel's website gives info on each and can help you to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarNann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip for a few days. It was really a wonderful stay. Essentially the staff, lead by Karen, provide a level of personalized service that is extremely rare. To the degree to which you want to be alone, they let you be. But anything that you might want they will do their best to help you attain. The guesthouse ittself is lovely. There is a level of artistic expression throughout the house that makes it elegant yet inviting.

I stayed in the room with the small courtyard attached. I would say that it is the nicest room, from my experience.

Room Tip: I would go for the one with the fountain and courtyard - it is really a unique little spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stay at Uxolo on my regular travels and its home away from home - super comfortable, warm, quiet, great location close to so many facilities and hubs, everything you require provided for, requests are met with a smile and I now find it hard to stay anywhere else because I cant put a price on this level of Service!
Small touches like hosts who check on your wellbeing, wi-fi, cleanliness, and flexibility to requests make a huge difference!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynetteNt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Guesthouse we were treated like the ROYALS. All the staff were as gracious and charming as they could be during our stay we love every minute of it from the time we checked in to the time we checked out . The accommodation is excellent and each one had a personality and the housekeeping is impeccable clean ,the guesthouse is stylish and comfortable, WiFi is complimentary

Thank you to Karen and the staff

Room Tip: all the rooms are perfect, we had a walk around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is gerat. The decor is lovely and very tasteful. The owner generous, and the experience one that you must have if you can! It is not far from the center of JHB and is pretty close the the major highways which makes the whole thing a real compelling package when choosing a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 67 in Johannesburg
350 reviews
10.1 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#160 of 300 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 123 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
450 reviews
5.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uxolo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uxolo Guesthouse

Address: 22 Nursery Road | The Gardens, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $61 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uxolo Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a quiet, tranquil garden setting, Uxolo assures guests of superb comfort and service. Not only are we a B&B, but offer lunch & dinner on an a la carte basis in our rustic bistro type restaurant. Sleep in ultra comfort in our extra king sized, plush mattressed. beds. Join the happy guests who return again & again! Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Uxolo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing