We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worsr pizza in Joburg go to Debonairs rather” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giardino Degli Ulivi

Il Giardino Degli Ulivi
Ranked #134 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worsr pizza in Joburg go to Debonairs rather”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is frequented by people who have no idea what a good pizza is. As I knew that they were going to put tons of cheese on my pizza, I asked for little cheese but still, the pizza came with tons of cheese. A heavy base and baglods of cheese, it reminded me of my worst pizza durong my university years in a shady souther British student town. I couldn't finish it that heavy it was. Just look at the pic I took to believe it. To avoid if you're looking for good pizza. Rather take your car and go to Yolo in Melville. That's what I call a GREAT pizza.

Helpful?
2 Thank CMF_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atmospheric Weekend and Lunchtime Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Eclectic Johannesburg alternative to Cape Town and Parkhurst. Convent Garden high street vibe .. The vibe at 44 Stanley on weekends and lunchtimes alone is worth a thousand dollars. The food, service and ambiance at Il Giardiono is all very good to great even if pricey. Never had a bad time there yet over the last two years. Try the three cheese formaggio starter followed by the salmon or the curry..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdaniel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambience but average food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Il Giardino has a wonderful location on 44 Stanley. Unfortunately the culinary experience isn't as great as the scenery as I had a fairly average pizza with ham (even though the menu listed bacon). It wasn't bad, just average. The service was a little disappointing as well with waiters disappearing frequently. Come here on the weekend for the live music and the surroundings, not necessarily for the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NikDragutinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a dinner at Il Giardino with friends and the service was outstanding. We ordered Balsamic Fillet, Gorgonzola Gnocchi and Butternut&Blue cheese Pizza.

The fillet as well as the pizza was outstanding. The Gnocchi was OK.

I thought the wine list was a little dull and didn't feel like I got value for money wines on there at all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I like the pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Now the wait-staff - well at least one of them, are old school like sophisticated and self-assured. This fits the vibe. It is casual and comfortable but in a really grown up way. The food is good. delicious actually. Although you have to like pizza and pasta. Gluten free? go elsewhere. But yummy. and hipster/fancy/

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ragingpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino Degli Ulivi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Il Giardino Degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing