We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pigalle Melrose Arch

Pigalle Melrose Arch
Ranked #20 of 1,172 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A world class restaurant renowned for exceptional seafood, meats wine & service. Master of elegant, yet trendy dining, overlooking the Melrose Arch Piazza.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with work colleagues at Pigalle. Directions could be better, food was great though. I had the lamb phyllo and venison carpaccio

Helpful?
Thank j0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    66
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Exprience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had an excellent experience today having lunch with my wife as well as my in laws at Pigalle Melrose Arch. the waitress Nicole who was excellently trained provided excellent customer service not only to me as the Host but also to my guests. The Baby Lobster was an excellent choice as well as the prawns which was absolutely well prepared and not to mention delicious. thank you Pigalle for continuing to raise your standards and deliver excellent service which is hard to find these days. I will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cateaux2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inner City Dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

A beautiful setting where, if you lucky, you can watch the sky turn from blue to gold as the sun sets. The menu offers a tempting array of seafood, all mouth watering. The palate cleanser and butternut soup where simply delicious! With regards to the Avocado-Ritz, I would have preferred the Avocado out of the skin as one could not eat the dish as it was served, but this is a personal preference. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere that gets busy around 8pm. I suggest you make a booking or go super early to dine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first time at Pigalle Melrose Arch for our 7th anniversary. Was very quiet as it was a Sunday evening. When I made the reservation I was asked if it was a special occasion and I explained that it was our anniversary and that I would like a table on one of the private balconies. When we arrived I expected the table to be prepared with saucers/napkins etc. and the candle at least to be lit, but we were shown to an empty table on a dark balcony. Still unsure of why they ask if it is a special occasion if they don't intend doing anything about it? Nothing complimentary was offered or anything? The hostess just congratulated us on our way out. Anyway everything we ordered was excellent and for the excellent food we would go back. For starters my husband had the bouillabaisse which he said was average but very filling. I had the chicken caesar salad (chef's speciality) which was delicious! Just the right proportion of lettuce, toppings and dressing. A brilliant take on a common dish. For mains my husband had the lamb shank which he enjoyed and I had the shellfish platter which was exceptional! Both were very filling. The shellfish was fresh, well seasoned and not over cooked. For dessert we had the chocolate fondant and trio of sorbet. We enjoyed both. The fondant was the best I have had in a while! Many reviewers comment on the steep prices but considering the size of the portions, it is good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vineshree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

A top class restaurant in all respects, and surprisingly good value, considering the all round high standards of the establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuartpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigalle Melrose Arch also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Pigalle Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing