We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Though pricey for the quality of food, it's still worth it”

The Raj Montecasino
Ranked #146 of 1,212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Though pricey for the quality of food, it's still worth it”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

At least the restaurant offers food that is good and tasty, for the prices they charge. It’s in a good location. There are other restaurants that I can recommend for better Indian food, but there too you need to be willing to pay. So all in all it is worth the price but I would not necessarily rush back there for their food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8mmSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    61
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A good menu and nice drinks make this a great place in the casino. Service is solid and food arrives quickly. Perhaps not the best Indian food around but you would not be disappointed if you wanted a good meal in the casino. The seating "outside" is of course, not outside but also is a bit hectic with all the people walking by. Don't sit there unless you want to eat in a fishbowl.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JutWags7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Weekday dinner for 9 celebrating a 60th birthday”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our waiter was friendly but not a very warm reception from a few other waiters. Food was good. Didn't notice the 10% service charge included in the bill and I added another 10% on top of that. Great happy birthday song but we missed the candle or sparkler on the treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine blend of Food, Ambience and Service”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Authentic and delicious Indian food. The "Dhingri Makai" was excellent. Great Ambiance and a very good service. A must for all food lovers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Indian food done right”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of my favorite styles of cooking is Indian. The food here is great. I only eat vegetarian and the curries are fantastic - You cannot go wrong. Flavours just burst in your mouth. The quality is always consistent. For me, the best choice is to have a Makhni or Muttar with a naan bread. This is the spice of life!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Montecasino also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Raj Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing