We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value For Money!”

The Meat Co - Montecasino
Ranked #105 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value For Money!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

As a traveller this place is fantastic Value for money. Tried my first bit of game here (Springbok) and the main fillet steak was melt in your mouth good. Service was excellent and the first Castle Lager on African soil was a great compliment to the meal :)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    139
    75
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nothing special at all. Had a steak and some wine, steak was ok. Staff were very good. There are plenty of better options around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oh so good”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

THe atmosphere is excellent and the meat is so special. Excellent cuts and the waiters know their meat. One could go crazy and over order here...

Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Before I came to South Africa, the best meat for me was in Australia. After I've tasted the fillet mignon at Meat Co. I was proven wrong. I am not a big meat eater but I can recognize good beef when I taste one. Service was also very good; I also bought some biltong to take home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r3dqu33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great steak house”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

nicely done, friendly staff and you get to your fill in a good location with good ambience. the food is amazing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jgicheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meat Co - Montecasino also viewed

Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Meat Co - Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing