We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food”

Thava Indian Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

food was of very good quality in the locality is very calm and serene. We had been there quite a number of times to savour the good taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srinath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    58
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Outstanding Indian food and great service. So good, we went back the next night for another meal. Most entrees under $10 US and totally worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SactoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very substantial menu covering many geographical regions of India, which generally results in everything being mediocre. However Thava was an exception.

I have a soft spot for indian cuisine, partially due to my own Pakistani heritage, and as such have sampled several Indian restaurants in Johannesburg. Thava has a lot of competition (Gazal and Swad all provide amazing specimens of indian cuisine).

I was recommended this place by a close friend who lives in the neighbouring Kilarny area, I normally do not venture this far away from Sandton / Fourways but this was definitely worth the trip. Our table sampled a mix of vegetarian and meat based dices and a selection of Naan's and rice accompaniments all of which were well received. The only slight reservation was that the dishes which were requested as spicy were still tame in respect to the expected levels of chilli. Although the food was good, id probably stick to Ghazals if I was in the neighbourhood.

Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulfat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Best Indian Cuisine in Jozzy”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Definitely worth more than a few visits. With the option of half portions makes it all the more worthwhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“The Worst Paneer I Have Ever Had”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had one of the worst Indian meals I have ever had this evening. Took a business partner for dinner. He had a reasonable lamb curry with rice.

I ordered a Paneer tikka masala with jura-pilao rice and a garlic nan bread. I normally eat this at least once a week at my regular place in Cape Town so I know what is good and what isn't.

The paneer tikka masala was completely tasteless and the cheese itself tasted like soap. I told the manager and asked him to swap it for a plain paneer tikka which he did. But the new dish arrived and was just as tasteless and soapy.

Service was also dreadful. Not sure how this place stays so packed out. The food looks good, but is really average. I wont be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thava Indian Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Thava Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing