We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stelle Restaurant

Stelle Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Stelle, our philosophy is simple, we are inspired by the finest, freshest ingredients and the most authentic vibrant flavours.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

personal service and home cooking...delicious.. well located and easy parking.. can take large parties or small tables..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fabulous authentic Italian trattoria in Parkview - you know it's the real thing when most of the patrons are Italians :) Try their octopus carpaccio and any of their delicious homemade pasta. YUM!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aimeelloyd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Que bello!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Honest Italian food, passionate, homemade, friendly staff. Preferred the old interior which was more like an improvised living room, but food is the main focus anyway. Very good value for money, small wine selection which is sufficient. Do not be put off by the tourist style look of the printed menu, the food is much much better!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian off the beaten track”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Authentic Italian off the beaten track in the quiet suburb of Parkview. Small limited seasonal menu of itmes that you will not find in the large franchise "Italian" restaurants. A gem.

Helpful?
Thank JoziNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“authentic italian in the heart of Jo'burg”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A cozy family restaurant and one of the very few places in South Africa where Italian food is really...Italian! Take my word for it: I'm from Rome.
Since our fisrt visit in 2009 my family and I are regulars here. Enjoy the octopus carpaccio, the Bagna Caoda, a delicious anchovy and garlic dip from Piedmont, the really scrumptious scampi ravioli and the many other speciality from Piedmont.
I almost forgot to mention: the desserts are really fenomenal. Tony, the Italian pastry chef, is a real magician! They even do outside catering at very reasonable prices. If you go ther ein the Summer try to book a table in the garden. Al fresco dining has never been more enjoyable!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stelle Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Stelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing