We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Melville”
Review of Cafe Picobella

Cafe Picobella
Ranked #150 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Melville”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have had so many dinners there. It is one of the few places I know it will open everyday and will not close until 10pm even on a Sunday... (finally a normal place!)

The menu is full of delicious options and I can't remember a time I was disappointed.
The place is very inviting with a huge oven for the pizza and lots of candle lights. Both romantic and friendly. And if you smoke, there is always a special place for you!

Also don't forget to have a look at the wine list. You won't be disappointed.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but waitress asked tip”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Food was good but wen the Bill came it was 414 we give 440 the waitress came to our table and said it was not enough she wanted 445? So no Thank you what an attitude

Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place... and I don't even like Italian!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed across the street at The Melville House - this place was my dinner locale for almost two weeks! It was really really good! Love the cappuccinos, the calzetta and the caprese salad!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank babsmcse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, excellent service and value”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went there initially because it was across the street from the Melville House where we were staying. Pleasant place, excellent service, good Italian food, warm and friendly, excellent value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyL_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks good and tastes good!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lovely atmosphere in the place, quite authentically Italian. People were very friendly and welcoming. I love the idea that they allow children to help in making their own pizza in the kitchen! The food was good, I went back twice for the Hawaiian pizza! The other food, whilst I did not try it, looked good as well and received two thumbs up from my family members. Nice little place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Picobella also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Melville, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe Picobella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing