We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent, authentic italian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tortellino D'Oro

Tortellino D'Oro
Ranked #75 of 1,123 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is really one of the best Italian restaurants I've been to in SA, the service and quality is incredible.

The store also has a great deli.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best italian made by mama!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is the best food BUT it is also very pricey- be warned!
I still go there, but everytime i am amazed at the prices- but the qulaity and taste are brilliant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sirensash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brodo-licious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This family run Italian restaurant and deli are purveyors of the classics. Great ingredients, carefully and lovingly prepared. Try the toretllini in brodo (little stuffed pastas in a homemade broth)... It will have you wishing you had an Italian mamma.

The coffee they import is legendary.

Be sure to book if its Saturday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“...if you have to ask the price....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have eaten at Tortellino for years and have always had the best food and service. This is the best Italian restaurant in South Africa and there is no restaurant that can come remotely close. As far as the prices, it is in the upper end of the price range but if you want the best you must be prepared to pay for it. To the previous reviewer who moaned about the prices I say "if you have to ask the price, you are in the wrong place darling! Perhaps you should be looking for a deal at the local Wimpy instead" don't listen to the cheapskates, go there for the quality which is abundant. As for the cats, that is a load of baloney - get a life.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I don't really get it. Am I missing something?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is supposed to be one of Johannesburg's finest Italian restaurants. And don't get me wrong, the food and service are very nice. But Tortellini D'Oro is extremely expensive and I am utterly put off by roaming stray cats in and around the tables. (That seems a little too 'peasant' for a place that charges a fortune of money for pasta.) I've never tried the deli area or the gelato, both of which are supposed to be superb, but as far as the restaurant goes, Pronto (Craighall Park) gives you a lot more for a lot less.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortellino D'Oro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Tortellino D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing