We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn 'n Tender, Bryanston Nicolway”
Review of Turn 'n Tender

Turn 'n Tender
Ranked #33 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“Turn 'n Tender, Bryanston Nicolway”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent service on Easter Monday. My husband and I had a superb lunch, thanks also to our waiter, Pumi, who was on the ball!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EriNorthamBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    85
    21
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Steak. service ok”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I had a business lunch with a good friend, I must admit that the steak was truly amazing and the mash that accompanied it was tasty. I had a rump steak. The waitress could have have been more attentive. The rest of the menu is pricy so it would be nice for a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank JoseDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive, steak not per order, admin bad”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Close relative was there and had a really disappointing meal. Steak was not to order (raw is not medium rare) and everything was pretty expensive without any upside (can of Coke R17???). Their payment machines (several were produced) then acted up and although payment had been processed (SMS proving this received), management was extremely unpleasant and unhelpful in resolving what was basically the restaurant's problem. Won't go there again for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beemer535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
153 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the restaurant, the service was good .we had ribeye steak which was not tender but the fillet steak was superb

Helpful?
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I remember this restaurant with some nice experience but I will not rate it with that experience. As a ex resident joburger who dies for a good steak I must say that the fillet does not live up to the likes of the local grill, the grillhouse or the butcher shop and grill. But comparing to other nice restaurants Turn'n Tender has always a place on the championship. Juicy, tasty and exactly as you wished. No more, no less...
The atmosphere at turn and tender is great but if you are not with a big group which is not drinking, it's bit difficult to have a conversation with your friend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing