We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parktown North- Best steakhouse in Jhb!”
Review of Turn 'n Tender

Turn 'n Tender
Ranked #32 of 1,199 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Parktown North- Best steakhouse in Jhb!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of my fiance & my firm favourites! We are regulars and are slightly ashamed that they now know us by name! The food is consistently excellent and service is superb. Any cut of steak (of which I have tried almost all) is always done to perfection and well seasoned. The sauces are always piping hot (clearly freshly made, our favourite is the blue cheese sauce) and the chips always crunchy. My fiance thoroughly enjoys the ribs and has never had any complaints. We went there a few weeks ago after a particularly draining day after our house had been broken into, and the hostess was so sympathetic and concerned...she even gave us shooters on the house to cheer us up! They also surprisingly make one of the best mojitos around Jhb. An all round awesome place to eat out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vineshree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    84
    21
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not just a steak house”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to the Trupps centre on Friday wanting to go to Lai Lai Gardens, only to find out that they have moved. As we were there already we decided to try out Turn 'n Tender. Although we do not eat beef, we were sure that they will have one or two non beef items that would be worth a try. My dry martini was good, although the can make a bit more effort on the garnish. My lamb tail started came with pap and gravy which complimented the lamb and was excellent. My wife's calamari started was equally good. Main course unfortunately was not as impressive. My wife's duck leg was so dry that even the orange and ginger sauce could not rescue it. My peri peri baby chicken was not peri and extra sauce was necessary. The main meals are offered with a good verity of sides, or a mixture of two or three. Our waitress Anna was friendly, knew her products and pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugen M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best steak in JHB”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Turn and Tender is the best steak house in JHB. You must try the biltong and cheese focaccia to share as a starter, they also make the best mashed potato in town. The branch in Parktown is our favourite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank katejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Steak!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

-busy steak restaurant which needs booking in advance really
-good choice on the menu and some lovely cuts shown by the waiter
-good choice of wine and beer, the local Gold Label beer was pretty good
-most of us went for the 500g rib-eye on the bone. Considering this was costing round £10 it was incredible value for visitors

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gastronomic”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Superb food. Ribs and steak to die for. Great range of other dishes. Highly recommended. Great service. Wonderful selection of wines. Booking essential.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing