We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As close as meat gets to perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turn 'n Tender

Turn 'n Tender
Ranked #47 of 1,084 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As close as meat gets to perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The ribs are excellent and the Argentinian style steak with Chimchurri is amazing- as close to Argentina as SA will get!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacquiandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    68
    19
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Fillet steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was invited by localists to join an EXCELLENT experience of one of the best steaks I ever had! It was perfectly Medium done, pink, juicy and well served. Am going to recommend about this place to all my colleagues and anybody who happens to go to Jo'burg.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DotyIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service that many restaurants could learn from.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the minute that we entered the doors the staff were upbeat and with such a superb atmosphere the food didn't have to be fabulous but it was.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sticky finger licking ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The ribs here are delicious. Rel finger licking good. Prices are relative to the portion therefore good value. They could improve on their service otherwise a d
Good night out.

Helpful?
Thank Rogerthetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“If I feel like a steak I certain ly will try another staekhouse !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The food is rushed. The waiters are arrogant. I have had better meat at many well branded steakhouse. This steakhouse still runs on its old reputation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonny6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turn 'n Tender also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Turn 'n Tender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing