We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood platter in Gauteng!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Parreirinha

Restaurante Parreirinha
No. 9, 6th Street | La Rochelle, Johannesburg 2190, South Africa
+27 011 435-3809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,047 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Run by the Da Cunha Family.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best seafood platter in Gauteng!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After years of visiting this quaint, vibe restuarant in our homeland South of Johannesburg I was not surprised to in that the service is still outstanding and the seafood platter still exceeding all our expectations! Please ensure that you book as this viby place gets really full. Don't stress when you fnd that you have to park in the street as your car is carefully watched for you. This family owned restaurant is worth the visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MirindaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    65
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
293 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ordered crayfish, prawns, chicken, calamari, champgane and 4 of us at for death. I was very surprised when the bill came and it cost R700. The restaurant has a lot of character and the property used to be the old police station and jails. You can actually see some of the tables appear to be in small cells. It makes a for a great atmosphere and the food is delicious.

We enjoyed the food the expereince and the great value, and the little adventure of going South to visit this place. They stayed open longer so we could finish our meal, what a great bunch of people runningthis place!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A perfect Friday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was such a nice find, beautiful ambience and decor, and the service was outstanding from when we arrived, choosing from all the specials, and then the food .....was so fresh and authentically Portuguese. Even Laurentina and 2M beers from Mocambique. It was worth the drive to the south of Johannesburg .....will definitely be entertaining guests here again.....fool proof perfection and just wonderful friendly service. A happy place for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurante Parreirinha - what a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On arriving at our destination according to our GPS we were a bit reluctant as to whether we felt brave enough to step inside. The area is really not the greatest but the restaurant came so highly recommended that we had to give it a try. Once inside, the vibe is so homely and comfortable, you quickly forget about the location and enjoy the excellent food and great music. The prawn cakes were divine and all the starters were good. The prawn curry, beef espetada and peri peri chicken dishes were of the best we have had. The prices are really reasonable and the wine list comprehensive. We stayed much longer than intended as it was a week evening but the vibe was too great to leave. The manager on duty and the staff were all excellent. What a great experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Here you pay for good food, wine and vibe! If you enjoy good food, value for money then don't waste your time going elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Timoteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Parreirinha also viewed

Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Restaurante Parreirinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing