We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, amazing people!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Parreirinha

Restaurante Parreirinha
Ranked #17 of 1,123 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Run by the Da Cunha Family.
Johannesburg
1 review
“Amazing Food, amazing people!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A beautiful family owned Portuguese restaurant in the south of Johannesburg. Great food and lots of ambiance! Dishes I would recommend is their clam starter, their trinchado and OF COURSE.... The prawns!! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NatalieCarraVanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    66
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although the restaurant is not situated in the best of areas, everything else about it is perfect. The service is always good and the food superb. Their birthday specials in July are always unbelievable. Be sure to book.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely Vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

BIG portion sizes, i had a starter platter for main... great to taste a bit of everything... prawn cakes are a must! the place has a warm friendly atmosphere, great Sunday lunch venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJHB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I was introduced some time back to parreirinha by some work colleagues. I live and work on the other side of Johannesburg but have made it my business whenever I am in town to make a turn past parreirinha. I have searched joburg for nice seafood and often do find quality but never of the consistency I find at Parreirinha. Add to this the chicken and you will find it hard to beat. The atmosphere is rustic perhaps a little bit more touristy than other restaurants down south but definitely not rough as described in other reviews.

An absolute must for visitors, you need to book and prices are not for free but the experience is well worth it. Young and old you will enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good portuguese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am a serious fan of Bacalhau a la bras and have been tasting this dish in several portuguese restaurants in town. By far Parreirinha is the best here in Johannesburg. Besides, portions are much bigger than other restaurants what makes the experience be really satisfying. I decided to rate it as four stars due to the location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Parreirinha also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Restaurante Parreirinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing