We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely Vibe”

Restaurante Parreirinha
Ranked #28 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Run by the Da Cunha Family.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely Vibe”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

BIG portion sizes, i had a starter platter for main... great to taste a bit of everything... prawn cakes are a must! the place has a warm friendly atmosphere, great Sunday lunch venue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AJHB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    69
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I was introduced some time back to parreirinha by some work colleagues. I live and work on the other side of Johannesburg but have made it my business whenever I am in town to make a turn past parreirinha. I have searched joburg for nice seafood and often do find quality but never of the consistency I find at Parreirinha. Add to this the chicken and you will find it hard to beat. The atmosphere is rustic perhaps a little bit more touristy than other restaurants down south but definitely not rough as described in other reviews.

An absolute must for visitors, you need to book and prices are not for free but the experience is well worth it. Young and old you will enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good portuguese”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am a serious fan of Bacalhau a la bras and have been tasting this dish in several portuguese restaurants in town. By far Parreirinha is the best here in Johannesburg. Besides, portions are much bigger than other restaurants what makes the experience be really satisfying. I decided to rate it as four stars due to the location.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a lovely restaurant - now one of my favorites! Delicious food and lovely wine and reasonable. We had the prawn cakes to start followed by a mixed platter of prawns (best I have had in Johannesburg) chicken and espetada served with rice and chips! We will definitely go back and would highly recommend it. Well worth the journey!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perilicious!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been there twice now and loved it both times. Is not in a salubrious part of town, but there's a car guard when you get there. Anyway, it's worth it. We had prawn cakes- bit like a Spanish croquetas and chicken livers for starters. Very substantial. Mains we had prawns and peri peri chicken. They come with rice and chips, double carb combo yum. Chips were crisp on the outside and fluffy inside. Portuguese salad lovely and fresh and crunchy. Desert we had the barilas de nata, which are the same as pastilas de nata. All delicious. Staff are really nice. Seemed filled with families, friends and couples having a great time. Perfect antidote to Sandton.

Helpful?
1 Thank chieftany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Parreirinha also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Restaurante Parreirinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing