We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
Priceline
$279
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$159
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveler rating
945
66
13
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
945
66
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub pool villa private jacuzzi turn down service moment you arrive stayed longer sitting room common areas an oasis pools safari spa marvin fireplace chandeliers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2019

You must stay 2 nights or more at this hotel. Spend an entire day there from breakfast to dinner and drinks in the piano bar after. Enjoy the pool or tennis or a nice spa day.
Very romantic with first class service from the moment you drive through the gate to check out. Food was superb service was impeccable, and rooms were fantastic. This place made our stay in Johannesburg!

Room tip: Room with patio and private jacuzzi tub with outdoor shower!
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

lies a pristine property with delightful touches of luxury and glamour. Not stuffy nor pretentious, very comfortable and relaxing. The staff is first rate, wanting to please but not in your way.
Whether it is breakfast or dinner (with accompanying piano player), the warming fireplaces, joyful waitstaff and flavorful entrees will surely delight.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MadWIExpTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

This was our second stay at this hotel before a safari. What a beautiful hotel. The decor, service, restaurant and spa are top notch. We had guests for lunch and it was lovely. I made sure I took advantage of the gift shop...just beautiful items. There is a reason this property is number one. If you are in the area don’t miss this hotel. It is so beautiful and relaxing.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mwitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

From the moment you arrive at The Residence, you are treated like royalty. The attention to detail is incredible, the food, decor, and service is first class. A bonus is the suites with a private jacuzzi to relax and unwind. The Spa is beautiful and peaceful and the staff is friendly and helpful. Absolutely everything is done to accommodate each guest's specific needs to ensure that the stay is memorable. The hotel is clean, the breakfast has a delicious and wide variety and Piano player in the dining room in the evening just adds that little extra to an already incredible experience. I would highly recommend staying here when you visit Johannesburg, the only disappointing thing is checking out.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyB3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

The Residence is an unusual and gorgeous hotel, three former private homes linked together with multiple public spaces, pools, gardens and fountains. The opulent décor, of the more-is-more school, is spectacular. Our two-room deluxe suite was large, comfortable and well laid-out.

Dining at the Residence is a delight. When we asked what time meals were served, the staff answered: whenever you want. Tables are available in a variety of settings, both indoor and outdoor. We ate both lunch and dinner there, and both times the food was superb. At dinner a gifted pianist played, and a blazing fireplace added warmth.

We used the Residence as a one-night rest stop between our lengthy international flights and our safari camp destinations, but it really deserves more. The hotel is about a 45-minute drive from the Tambo Airport.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and from all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews