We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wow what a sensational hotel. This is a very special place to stay in JNB and will more than likely be the only place we stay when visiting the area. Great service and food, friendly staff and nothing is a issue. Even requesting a birthday cake without warning. Great Pizza too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was only a pleasure assisting you with a cake and trust you had a great day. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 760 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for one night (although we got separate rooms) and I can't say anything bad about my stay. This is a boutique hotel and they pay attention to the smallest of details. I was lucky enough to get the room with the outdoor terrace and jacuzzi which was a real treat after being in the bush for a couple of weeks. The staff are just fantastic and treat you like royalty. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank naomifoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and that 2014 is going to be a fantastic year for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in the penthouse which was huge! The bedroom was nice and the bathroom was also good but the outside space was just amazing with 2 jacuzzis and roof top views. Plenty of sunbathing space! The staff were so friendly and polite. The transfer to and from the hotel ran like clock work. The food was good and the breakfasts delicious - we have stayed in 5* chain hotels all over the world and this definitely compares.

Room Tip: Penthouse was great but I think the other rooms looked big also just maybe not as much outside space
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clementine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and from all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed one night while traveling through Johannesburg, and wished we'd stayed longer at this hotel. They arranged airport pickup, a driver to bring us to the Aparthied Museum, and return to the airport after our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent. They upgraded us to the penthouse which had an amazing outdoor area and views. We had a family dinner on-site and the food was excellent. Overall a truly excellent experience. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back some day soon.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked this place after reading many positive reviews of it. However, the place was not at all what we expected. IT WAS WAY BETTER! The staff makes you feel like you are in a friend's home, not in a hotel. It is about 10 minutes away from the main drag and downtown, so if you are looking for action this may not be it for you. We were looking for a quiet, sophisticated and elegant place, away from the crowd and this was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have issues climbing stairs. They do not have elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much providing us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you had an enjoyable trip back home. If we are not fortunate enough to welcome you back this year then we trust 2014 is going to be a great year for you.
All the very best from all of us here at The Residence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed two nights en route to the south. It was like staying in a private residence. The suite with terrace and jacuzzi was lovely. Great attention has been paid to detail in the rooms and lounges. The welcome was warm and professional. The owner, the manager and all the staff members were charming and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had an enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Indeed our experience from the time we entered the hotel thru to the time we checked out had been very nice and pleasent. The staff and the management made us feel very welcome and were very courteous. The room was no less than a five star hotel. If I go to Johannesburg will definitely stay there.
BTW we stayed there on the 21st of Nov.

Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $229 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing