We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Indeed our experience from the time we entered the hotel thru to the time we checked out had been very nice and pleasent. The staff and the management made us feel very welcome and were very courteous. The room was no less than a five star hotel. If I go to Johannesburg will definitely stay there.
BTW we stayed there on the 21st of Nov.

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    53
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
105
411
40
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
392 reviews
383 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night last day of my Madagascar holiday. Transport was via a rolls royce, welcome letters in room and in the car. Chatty friendly driver that has worked for the owners for 15 years (& told me they are great bosses) drove past the Mandela house which is only a few blocks away from the hotel. Very classy hotel with gigantic rooms, indoor outdoor baths, super slow wifi (multiple attempts to download a magazine failed) dinner was decent but spoilt by mossies, the dinner food choices are not as good as at Saxon, but they do spoil you ie roses, chocolate etc. Service was also excellent. Overall a much better value vs Saxon and I'll definitely come back on my next Jo'berg visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really appreciate your feedback and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the Wi-Fi issue. We are aware of it and are currently in the process of resolving the matter. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A wonderful stay in Johannesburg. Even though the stay was too short, The Residence will be THE place for us to stay next time we are in Johannesburg again – hopefully soon.
The Residence is one of these rare hotels, where you feel totally comfortable and at home. The swimming pools, the room, the living room, the bar, the restaurant…. everything is made for you to feel in heaven… and we were… We did not want to leave it.
But the hotel is nothing compared to its incredible staff: hospitality, kindness, highly customer oriented, solution-oriented at all times…. The staff is top class.Thanks a lot to all of the Staff members: from housekeeping to Management though the Chef and the driver.
A memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveler81gv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a very close team at The Residence and are so glad it shows in our service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Residence and would all like to wish you the very best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited the Residence in December 2013. It was an incredible experience. You are treated as though you are the most important person in the world -- and a part of the family. Lucky was our driver and as cheesy as it sounds, I had tears in my eyes when he drove us to the airport. He is such an incredible person. Every one at the Residence was focused on guest service and making us feel comfortable and welcome. The lovely manager (whose name escapes me at this moment! how terrible!) was so amazing to us -- she was always full of energy and a positive attitude and she made us feel so at home. The room (room 7) was amazing, we loved the outdoor shower and bathtub. When we return to Johannesburg, we will definitely return to the Residence. It is an incredible, wonderful place with amazing staff that make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your feedback. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best for 2014.
PS the managers name is Sanet and she sends best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Residence is a small, very intimate, boutique hotel. I loved it. I arranged to have the hotel send a driver to the airport. He was on-time, with a gorgeous flower (a nice touch) and we had a wonderful conversation on the way back to the hotel. Once there, I was treated with gracious hospitality. We had room 4--right off the lobby. I was worried about noise and privacy. Not at all. I did not hear any noise from staff or other guests. The rooms are lovely--all are suites. Room 4 has a bedroom, spacious bath, sitting area with fireplace and TV, another sitting area with an outdoor shower and an outdoor terrace looking onto a fountain. The staff are friendly and the service is impeccable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and both were delicious. Dinner comes with a wonderful wine list too. We would have loved to stay a few days more and we will definitely come back to this hotel when in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you feedback. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The residence had a great rate and is a gorgeous hotel. It is a small boutique, but they treat you extremely well and is a very high level of service (including a great restaurant!). We had a wonderful time at the hotel and we were pleasantly surprised at how great it was! The location is safe, which is a big deal in Jo'burg. Don't stay at a big chain - you will love the Renaissance!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBud_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best for 2014 and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wow! This hotel exceeded my expectations on every level. The rooms are more than great, fantastic staff, wonderful food and even better location. It is hard to describe the experience in this hotel, but it was the best surprise of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romyrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
392 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
543 reviews
2.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing