We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel steps away from Mandelas home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We only stayed here for two nights on our way in and out of South Africa, but wished it would have been longer. We stayed in two of their luxury suites with terraces (one with a hot tub) and they were beautiful. The service was excellent!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a beautiful terrace
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 760 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Residence for both of our layover nights. This is an excellent place to stay. Amazing rooms with an African feel – outdoor showers and baths but very upscale. Food is amazing. Staff is excellent. They pick you up at the airport and take you back in either a Rolls Royce Silver Shadow or a very nice Mercedes Van. After a safari in tents or Mozambique in the lodge it is exactly what you need – you are pampered.
The dining room and the spa are also excellent....make time for both.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels as we travel a lot. I cannot find one negative thing to say about this place. I have never been treated so well. I felt like royalty. All the staff could not do enough for you. The place is gorgeous in every way. There is not one detail they have missed. We did not see any of Johannesburg as we did not want to leave the hotel and we were so sad when we did have to leave. They had different bath salts and they light some scented oil and a leave a great treat at turndown which is a wonderful surprise! If you go to Johannesburg, you must stay at this place. I cannot say enough about the staff and accommodations. I had high expectations because of trip advisor and they were exceeded. Absolutely incredible! Good job everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulBC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. and it was very nice. The hotel has good food, nice pools, tennis courts, an excellent spa where Diane was kind enough to fit me in with no notice at all and gave me the best manicure ever. She was very friendly and interesting and I really enjoyed not only the manicure but our conversation as well. The entire staff here were excellent. We stayed in the Pool Villa, which had a private pool, separate dining / living room with fireplace and a really nice bedroom and bathroom. We also had our own private patio. The hotel used to be an embassy and is comprised of many separate dining and sitting areas and my favorite was the Boat Lounge. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The Pool Villa is very private and has a lovely patio and pool, as well as a large separate living r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. If there is anything you feel we could improve on to give you an excellent experience please do not hesitate to provide us with your recommendations.
We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you want to be treated like royalty, see first hand what loyal employees look like and never forget your wonderful experience in Joburg..stay here. From all the signature touches and attention to detail to Lucky the chauffeur and the amazing manager of this hotel the owners of this hotel have thought of everything. Hats off to them. Anyone in my family who goes to Joburg will be told to stay here. The Howse Family

Room Tip: We did not use the spa so could not comment.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleWhoKnows_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
Kindest regards,
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at and their service was exceptional to say the least, while the ambience and food was impeccable too. Perfect place for a getaway in the city. Hope to go there again soon someday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Hotel has had only superb reviews online , and I can see why , it is a gorgeous old Houghton residence , sprawling estate , 2 pools , tennis court , lovely reception rooms and beautiful artefacts wall to wall. The water features , mirrors and furniture are sumptuous and elegance abounds. My first night was a 5 star, but the second is why I am giving them 4 out of 5 . We went for a wedding, and the second day with all the comings and goings of the wedding party and suppliers the confidence seemed to have wavered. My husband was allowed to carry our bags , we waited 20 minutes for a drink our check in was delayed and all of this would have been completely unremarkable had I not had night 1 in room 8 where the service and overall handling was exceptional and effortless. Breakfast is a lovely affair , silver service and the buffet is brought to you. We had dinner on the first evening which was also excellent and the staff just amazing , in a really natural unforced kind of way. Lovely rooms with showers and baths on the balcony and nice linen and touches like the nespresso machine. Rack rate is reasonable but drinks are a little over -priced , R 30 for a local SA beer. ! The shuttle service is very nice , though not complimentary even for just 5 km , but all in all I can see why visitors love The Residence , especially foreigners. Sam and Ramboe are special as is Martin and Lucky the chauffeur.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate the feedback as we continuously aim to improve and better our offerings to our guests.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to congratulate you and wish you both all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
616 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
568 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $229 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing