We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious old leafy Houghton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gracious old leafy Houghton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Hotel has had only superb reviews online , and I can see why , it is a gorgeous old Houghton residence , sprawling estate , 2 pools , tennis court , lovely reception rooms and beautiful artefacts wall to wall. The water features , mirrors and furniture are sumptuous and elegance abounds. My first night was a 5 star, but the second is why I am giving them 4 out of 5 . We went for a wedding, and the second day with all the comings and goings of the wedding party and suppliers the confidence seemed to have wavered. My husband was allowed to carry our bags , we waited 20 minutes for a drink our check in was delayed and all of this would have been completely unremarkable had I not had night 1 in room 8 where the service and overall handling was exceptional and effortless. Breakfast is a lovely affair , silver service and the buffet is brought to you. We had dinner on the first evening which was also excellent and the staff just amazing , in a really natural unforced kind of way. Lovely rooms with showers and baths on the balcony and nice linen and touches like the nespresso machine. Rack rate is reasonable but drinks are a little over -priced , R 30 for a local SA beer. ! The shuttle service is very nice , though not complimentary even for just 5 km , but all in all I can see why visitors love The Residence , especially foreigners. Sam and Ramboe are special as is Martin and Lucky the chauffeur.

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate the feedback as we continuously aim to improve and better our offerings to our guests.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to congratulate you and wish you both all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    53
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
102
400
38
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. The service was stellar and it was a tranquil, beautiful setting in the middle of the city. The restaurant was so good, we ate there both nights we were there. The attention to detail and the small welcoming touches were better than I've ever experienced before. I highly recommend The Residence when traveling to Johannesburg!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us and hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

When we arrived very early morning after 37 hours in travel status, we were greeted by a very polite and helpful driver named Lucky with a comfortable car, cold towels and cold water (prior arrangement with the hotel). It took less than 30 minutes to reach the hotel and after we freshened up, we were treated to a great breakfast. Since we made prior arrangement, we were able to check into our romantic room with balcony early and had a good rest.
We spent the rest of the day relaxing around the pool, having a bath in a bathtub on our balcony and having an early dinner at a table in the garden just outside the dining room. Food was fresh and well prepared and artfully served. The manager in the Reception and serving staff in the dining room were very helpful.
The whole hotel is tastefully decorated with great imagination: orchids, Chinese lanterns, paintings, old photographs. Room was equipped with safe, bathrobes, great bedding, coffee machine, top quality toiletries, fluffy towels.
There are several very comfortable and relaxing areas with bars, library,,,,,Altogether, incredible experience in a top notch boutique hotel . We would have liked to stay longer and certainly will next time.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms (they are all different) but our room #3 with a balcony overlooking the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose_Inger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

very cool hotel with extremely nice staff. Lucky, the driver is especially nice. He seems to be a very happy man indeed. The rooms are spacious and clean. I stayed in room number 5 which has a spacious terrace and an outside shower as well as a Jacuzzi. Great experience to take a shower in the morning sun which when it rises is directly on the shower spot - very well planned.
I will definitely return to this place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiFeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Until next time, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Where one has the luxury to stay at global brand hotels such as the Four Seasons, One and Only, Oberoi etc...you get used to what they consider you to be a guest and the service that entails. They are excellent. The Residence though is on another level. This place has a soul that effortlessly combines the past with the modern day. As standard, the food, cocktails and service are first rate, but when one has time to look beyond that, the subtle touches in artwork, decor, water features, rich colors of fabric etc. help you to feel at ease. If you wish for the glamour and attention, this place is not for you, but if you want to be wrapped in home comfort and warmth then this is your place....exceptional.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luissolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such an amazing review. We really and truly do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day soon.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place was absolutely gorgeous. We arrived late in the afternoon, so didn't have an opportunity to try out the pool (which was covered over not long after our arrival). Everything was absolutely 5 star, but... It seemed to lack the friendliness & warmth of other places we visited in SA. Don't get me wrong, the staff were lovely, but they seemed to spend so much time ensuring everything was perfect, they didn't have time to have fun interaction with the guests. The service was impeccable, but we would have preferred more character & interaction with the staff. This is not a complaint, but we had come to love the people of South Africa and their infectious enthusiasm, and just didn't feel it here. This interaction with the locals is more important to us than the 5 star rating. Also, we were refused a late checkout, so ended up going to the airport earlier than anticipated as there was more to do. On the plus side, the hotel itself was beautiful and luxurious. Maybe just let the staff be themselves? The locals are the reason we come !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa on your private outdoor deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crouchie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it. We do cover the one pool due to it being a heated pool but this is only around 6pm. It would have been an absolute pleasure to remove the cover should you have wished to swim. Regarding our staff members, we encourage them to be themselves and interact with the guests. My only explanation would be that they were busy or that you were served by one of our more shy individuals.
Thank you once again and hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.
Kindest regards,
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Residence is as good as people say. Our room had its own deck and spa (not that the 0 degrees overnight allowed us to use it.)

The service is warm and inviting, the restuarant was very good indeed and as the other reviews mention the attention to small details like the chocolates, hot water bottle and the best breakfast probably we've ever had, make all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunswick_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you are able to visit us again during the summer months so that you can enjoy our outside areas.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing