We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and original”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightful and original”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed only for one night on our way back from Sabi Sand Reserve, but this is the kind of hotel where you wish you had more time in the place just to stay inside it...
Service is impeccable and kind, food is amazing and the whole place is so original...Every little touch is well thought of and you feel like being in a wonderful friend's house. Our room was huge and comfortable. The food is delicious and there's also a spa and pools (plural).
We had to leave early for our flight and they provided with a lovely breakfast at 6:30.
We don't even have to think about where to stay in our next time in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: We had the Madiba room and we absolutely loved our terrace with jacuzzi and lovely little quirks lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    53
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
102
399
38
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In a country bursting with superb small hotels it was a real joy to discover The Residence. Quirky, stylish, wonderful service, excellent staff, luxurious - the list goes on & on & just what we needed at the end of yet another wonderful safari. But it is so much more than just a great place to start or end a holiday.

The location is excellent. We chose to drive ourselves from the airport & it was a simple 25 minute trip to the leafy up-market suburb of Houghton Estate. We wanted the freedom to spend our last day exploring - the African Craft market at the nearby (less than 10 mins) Rosebank Mall was perfect for picking up last minute handicrafts at great prices.

Our arrival was seamless - a welcoming drink before being whisked off to our suite which was gorgeous - wonderful squishy bed, chandeliers, fireplace, fabulous bathroom & a wonderful terrace with hot-tub & deep sun loungers - we didn't think we'd be using them in August but it was a real suntrap during the day. And what a joy to fall asleep in front of the fire in your room on a chilly night with chocolates & a glass of sherry from the decanters provided & the sweet smell of fresh roses.

The piano bar is a great spot for a pre-dinner drink, followed by an excellent dinner in the beautiful restaurant although the wonderful meandering layout of the hotel means you can choose to have your meals at any of the tables spread out throughout the ground floor - next to the trickling indoor waterfalls or overlooking the pool. Afterwards, there are lots of gorgeous little areas to curl up in on deep sofas next to roaring fires. Loved the tennis court & the 2 pools - 1 heated so that you can swim even in winter - the photos just don't do it justice.

Having been on over 15 safaris to all over Africa (mostly via Joburg) this was the first time we chose to extend our trip, simply to stay at a hotel at the end but The Residence is a little gem & from now on we will stay here at both the beginning & the end of any trip we make through Joburg. Cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: Choose between one with a terrace bath or terrace hot-tub - or splash out on one with both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review. We really do appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was truly lovely meeting you and hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.

From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere fabulous to stay in Johannesburg then this is definitely the place. After a long overnight flight from Paris we arrived to be warmly welcomed by William and all of the other amazing staff at the Residence. The bedrooms and interior of the hotel oozes style, there is tennis, a gym and a fantastic swimming pool, plus the food is first class. This is such a friendly place to relax and unwind. We wished we had stayed for more than one night before going off on our safari to Nottens in Sabi Sands. On our return we were greeted at the airport by Lucky with the rest of our luggage before flying off to Mauritius. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon, thank you so much. The Lyons family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 7SimonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to see you again someday soon.

All the very best from all of us here at The Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed at many top notch hotels including the Saxon but Sannet and her staff top them all when it comes to caring. We arrived after 30+ hours of travel to find all our luggage decided to take its own trip not ours. The staff from the minute we walked in the door were on the phone trying to get South African airlines to find it. Their frustration was almost as great as our and we made two trips to the mall to somewhat outfit us for 10 days of safari. Our room was lovely with a glorious bed and view. We were exhausted and ate both dinners at the hotel which were delightful and very reasonably priced. The spa massage and facial were excellent. Much better than we get in the State's and at half the price.
Breakfast was a grand experience with a butler tray set up with many surprises next to your table.

Lucky the driver couldn't have taken better care of us and was ready when we were. Charity in the office is lovely and a hard worker plus I expect to see Warren as a general manager one day. Maybe at a game lodge??
Loved the amarula and Chocolate on bed stand at night.

Hoping we will return one day for a less stressful stay.
PS Our luggage showed up 10 days later and we picked it up to go home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smountaintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do appreciate it. It was so lovely meeting you and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.

All the very best from all of us here at The Residence and we look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at The Residence for our anniversary. The staff was welcoming and though they initially placed us in the wrong room, they quickly rectified the error and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine to apologise.

The penthouse is classically beautiful, with an outdoor bath, jacuzzi and a spacious deck to enjoy in privacy. It was romantic and felt like we were the only two people there.

The food was delicious. And walking through the small hotel, we fell in love with each room and the attention to detail.

We also visited the spa and both enjoyed our massages. The spa accommodated our times and moved stuff around to fit us in. It was small but a lovely experience.

We will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaRawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your anniversary with us, and we wish you many more.

All the very best from all of us at The Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the best, if not the best, small hotel experiences I have ever had. We did an overnight here before a morning flight out to Sabi Sands and it is a quick 25 minutes to and from the airport. The spacious and comfortable rooms are like heaven after a long day of travel. The staff was gracious and friendly. Not a single small detail was over looked. Even though the layout can be a little confusing at first, it helps to create intimate spaces and cozy nooks to delight and surprise. I highly recommend this property to anyone who needs to be in Johannesburg for any length of time..

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse suite. The stairs up are a bit narrow but you are greeted by your own personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home.

We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the very best.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although we had only one night at the Residence, it's one of the most memorable of our visit to South Africa for the impeccable service, wonderful room, tour of Johannesburg and drop off to the airport in the hotel's very own Rolls Royce Silver Spirit vintage car. An amazing experience all around and one of the best hotels I can remember staying in (anywhere!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.

From all of us at The Residence, we would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
371 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
561 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing