We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the loveliest places we've ever stayed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest places we've ever stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at The Residence for only one night while transiting Johannesburg, but really wish we could've stayed longer! Everything about our stay was perfect. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the staff very professional and courteous, and the breakfast was excellent. We arranged for transfers to/from the airport with the hotel, and were very impressed by the comfortable and reliable service. The suite we had booked was unexpectedly unavailable, so we were rebooked in the jacuzzi suite (which includes a private deck and jacuzzi!) and given a complementary bottle of champagne. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suite, with a private hot tub, deck, and a fireplace, was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to provide a review.
We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back.

From all of us at The Residence we would like to say thank you once again for your lovely review and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    52
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
99
392
37
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel experience that I have ever had in my life ... Which includes the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, and Intercontinental hotels all over the world. The facilities are 5 star and the service even higher. In particular, I would like to recognize Warren, Keith, and Khuliso (my hired driver for 2 days), as well as Sanet, Cherry, Daniel, and Lucky.

Specifics include large beautifully appointed rooms, great location (quiet and convenient neighborhood, incredible food, many lovely common areas, excellent exercise equipment, pools and tennis ...all for a tremendous value.

They even sent a jacket I left behind to my next hotel via an overnight carrier!

I can't wait to return to this hotel and plan to recommend it to everyone traveling to Jo'burg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rrn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you taking the time to review us.

From all of us at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and hope to be able to welcome you back again some day soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

A quick stay while transiting Johannesburg - debated whether it was worth spending so much for such a short time - absolutely was! I can't wait to go back. Great room with a nice patio - lovely bar area, great breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really do appreciate it.
Hopefully we will get to be of serves to you for a bit longer next time.
Until then, all the very best.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Residence Boutique and would highly recommend it. It is a little outside the city and would require a taxi to city center but for us that was no problem. Our room had a lovely deck overlooking the city as well as our bedroom, sitting area and outside shower and bath tub.
The food was very good both breakfasts and dinner. The hotel itself has two pools and a tennis court sitting amongst very pretty gardens. There are numerous sitting areas for one to enjoy and the service is very good.
I loved the personal touches of this hotel and being someone who prefers the boutique style hotel this satisfied our personal requirements with the five star touches.
My one comment would be to ensure the bathtub outside is ready to go. It was a bit dusty with a few leaves; probably had not been used for a couple days.
We will return and will recommend!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the penthouse. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the dusty outdoor bath. We have addressed the issue with housekeeping and are providing refresher training.
From all of us at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the moment that you are picked up at the airport for the shuttle to the hotel - until your departure - you are made to feel special and welcome. We stayed there for a week and were never disappointed. The surroundings are an eclectic elegance that is comfortable and warm. The staff are well trained to detail and are super attentive. The dining room - while not having a huge menu - has sufficient choices that are all well served. We will certainly return given the opportunity.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite that was perfect considering the length of time that we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment about the menu and are currenlty extending it.
From all of us at The Residence, we would like to wish you both all the very best.

Kindest regards
The Residence team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I found this hotel by accident - had to find a place to stay for the night when my other hotel could no longer accommodate me. I ended up staying a week. There is nothing I can fault about this hotel. The staff, particularly Sanette, Charity and Warren, are of the highest caliber, not to mention the Housekeeping and Waiting staff, as well as Lucky, the Driver, and the Gatekeeper, proudly wearing his bowler hat. Attention has been paid to every detail of the hotel, which feels like one giant, opulent house (it is in fact two giant, opulent houses!). I particularly enjoyed the fact that although the hotel was full, there were always private spaces available, intimate little areas, the tinkling of water, the sight of tropical flowers and glittering chandeliers, and service always nearby. The complimentary sherry is topped up in the rooms, as are the nespresso pods for the machines, and each room has its own lounge, not to mention outside (private) and inside shower and or bath. With two pools to choose from, lush gardens, quiet, tranquil spaces, I never felt like leaving the hotel. The food, wine and cocktail menu were superb and very reasonably priced, the service amazing. I will never stay in another hotel in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, General Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are so glad that you accidental found us and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Four friends, all of us ex pats living in different countries in Africa for several years, had different reasons to be in Johannesburg (medical, training) and decided to meet up for a special time. The Residence gave us the perfect setting on a cold and rainy weekend. The staff was exceptionally gracious, helpful and professional. Kudos, to all of you from the chef to Lucky who drove us early in the morning to catch Gautrain and everybody in between. We had planned to go out on the town but opted for sitting around our fireplace (in our room) and chat, after a delicious meal in the elegant dining room. The spa just added the perfect touch. We will definitely try to make it back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. It was such a pity about the cold wet weather but glad you made the most of it in front of the fire place.

From all of us at The Residence we would like to thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the very best,
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing