We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work of art and heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Residence may be my finest hotel experience. Ever. The decor, grounds, lighting, attention to detail are all exquisite, warm and welcoming. The physical features alone would make this a five star rating. But the staff are what make this experience so wonderful. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable, from the moment we arrived. The food was superb, beautifully presented and graciously served. The outdoor spaces of the rooms with jacuzzis are sublime. The jacuzzi is not something I usually seek, but I love outdoor space. And these units have the loveliest outdoor seating and dining that I have ever experienced. I enjoyed a great massage and nail treatment on the premises. And do ask for the hotel to arrange transportation for you. The drivers are knowledgable and very professional. I hope to return and find the same wonderful people creating this wonderful place. Thanks to all of you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Those with a jacuzzi have incredible outdoor space. The Mandela suite is o...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always welcoming hearing that the hard work and attention to detail is noticed and appreciated.
We hope to see you again someday soon and wish you all the very best.

Kindest regards,
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 760 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

absolutely a lovely hotel with very charming personell, they do give the hotel a personal touch and make you feel "welcomed and at home". We stayed in room 4 and it was very spacious and even had an extra bathroom - outdoor bathroom, just loved it! Breakfast is wonderful, it is quiet and the surroundings is beautiful. The spa is well worth a visit (you have to book in advance as the ladies will come to the hotell to provide the services) very pleased with facial and mani/pedi work. As some other guest has pointed out, the location of the hotel is somewhat "outside everything"; the driver will take you to resturant etc but it is wise to be aware that this is not in walking distance from anything. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel and it was very good så that is also an option. For a relaxing weekend we found this hotel to be just what we needed to wind down and relax.

Room Tip: Room 4 has an outdoor bathroom, in addition to the indoor! And a living room with fireplace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
From the team at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and thank you for chosing to stay with us.
Kindest regards
The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a first! After many years of booking individual travel myself via the web, we chose to go by reviews on Trip advisor rather than hotel consolidator bookingpages,in order to find the place for our overnight stay in Jo'burg on the way back to Europe. So that's how we found the Residence in Jo'burg (Houghton) and I can assure you, we weren't disappointed with our choice!!!

As other reviews have already pointed out, this is a boutique hotel which is in a class of its own. Not just in Jo'burg but in Africa! Everything about the hotel was an extremely positive experience. The Staff is impeccable and very service minded, the hotel interior is in some places opulent but yet beautiful and best of it all is that it truly makes you feel at home in the best sense of the word. Add to that that the location is perfect in a nice, quiet JNB-neighbourhood amongst embassies, Nelson Mandela and a large contingent of ANC-brass!

This was our first visit to The Residence, and unfortunately we arrived late in the evening and therefore only enjoyed the services of the hotel (much too) briefly, but I can assure anyone staying at the Residence that there's plenty to do and enjoy if you have time to spare, including playing tennis on the hardcourt in the garden:-)!

Thank you to "the Residence" for a fantastic stay! We will definitely be back again soon, maybe at the time you've expanded the premises to include the neighbours house, allowing more guests to have "the Residence experience".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.
We would like to wish you all the very best and thank you again for choosing to stay at The Residence.

Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel, clearly is a masterpiece. The service is brilliant, the staff has an answer to everything. The amenities in the room are breathtaking- several fancy gadgets, free mini bar, gourmet coffee, world-class cosmetics and many more things. The lobby area of the hotel is full of interesting curios, artifacts, paintings, books, etc- one could spend a whole day admiring each of these. There is a spa, a tennis court (!!) and two pools. Breakfast is an experience that cannot be described- the quality of the food and of the service is better than anywhere we have seen.

Yet, the hotel is also a miniature. There are only a few rooms, the size of the room is not very big. The starwells, alleys and corridors are all quite small. The size of the gym is about the same as a usual hotel bathroom. Everything is very, very well done and well thought of, but sadly we felt somewhat cramped with the lack of some open spaces which one is used to while staying in a hotel with 5 star rating. It is, in fact an excellent residence but not really a hotel.

The location of the hotel is also not very great- we had our own car so for us it was easy to reach and move out. the hotel is located in a residential area, i think one of the posh areas of Johannesburg where a lot of consulates and politician's houses are also located. There is no commercial or tourist spot that one can reach by walking, and not much of a view of the city life, crowd or skyline.

Room Tip: Take some extra time to savour the breakfast- worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible, even if that means recommending a larger city centred hotel which might have met your requriements.
We wish you all the very best for 2013.

Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Recommended by a colleague I was tentative - Johannesburg is not exactly short on good hotels. However this is an outstanding hotel - they don't miss an opportunity to impress. The reasonableness of free soft drinks in the mini bar compared with like hotels charging ridiculous amounts, the outstanding breakfast which must meet all tastes, outstanding dinner menu at very reasonable prices and the very best turn down service. The rooms are outstanding - the ultimate in comfort. Staff could not be any better, not one of them. All at a very reasonable price. I spend many nights in Johannesburg each year and many of my colleagues do also. We now have a new base in Jozi. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a lovely review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
All the very best.
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel deserves to be the nr1 in Joburg. It's an oases with all the comfort that you can wish for at a reasonable price and located just minutes from the central Joburg highway.
Here you will receive more than you wished for. When seating myself at the pool a complimentary fresh fruit platter was brought. Entering my room a soft music in the background. Outdoor shower and bath were placed in the patio of my room, but I understood that all rooms have their own extra's. Do not forget to visit the spa and to take a massage....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All the very best for 2013 and hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My girlfriend and myself spent two nights at The Residence in early January 2013, and were enormously delighted to find that the hotel lived up to, and sometimes surpassed, the numerous 5 star ratings found on the TripAdvisor and other such travel sights.

The experience, and that's what it is, an experience not a stay, is something out of Hollywood. From the moment you drive in, you are treated exqusitely - as if you are the hotels sole guest! Upon arrival, you are greeted by the doorman in his bowler hat, the concierge and a waiter with a refreshing array of welcome drinks.

You are efficiently taken on a brief tour of the establishment (useful), and escorted by the concierge to your room, where your luggage is already awaiting you. The room we stayed in had a handsome view of both the pool and the greenery that Houghton is famous for. The room lacks nothing, and the decor is exquisite, even when compared to other more expensive boutiques in Johannesburg, with Chandeliers; Persian carpets; walk-in closets and a luxurious bathroom...

The hotels restaurant is one of its hidden secrets, a true gem even when compared amongst the world class restaurants a stones throw away in Melrose and Sandton. Do yourselves a favor and try the hotel restaurant at least once whilst you stay here.

What impressed us most however was the staffs' attention to detail. My girlfriend felt a little under the weather on the Saturday night, and the staff genuinely made efforts to assist. More impressively, the day manager on the Sunday made genuine inquiries as to how my girlfriend was feeling, even though she was not there the night before! Truly left a great impression on us!

All in all, one of the best hotel visits we have ever had, and we can wholeheartedly recommend The Residence for any visit to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avibrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for providing us with such a lovely review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be of serve to you again in the near future.
All the very best.
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $233 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing