We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfectly Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wow!!! What a wonderful guest house. Beautifully decorated and appointed. The staff is helpful and friendly, even knowing how to reset my camera menu and draw a map to the nearest store for Nandos Peri-Peri sauce. The robes in the rooms are the best! The breakfast is outstanding, with some of the best Eggs Benedict I've ever eaten. Dinner was exceptional with a fantastic wine selection. The guest house found a guide and driver for us for the day and organized our short stay so we could get the most out of our day in Johannesburg before leaving. Although the Residence is speedy, it is worth every penny!! A special place for a special occasion or just a treat! Hopefully, we will be able to return. What an exceptional place to spend time.

Room Tip: I am sure that any room would be perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and hope you still have stock of your nandos peri peri sauce.
All the very best.
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    45
    8
    0
    6
See reviews for
88
319
31
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at The Residence for 2 nights. It is a very nice place. Only 11 rooms but 2 swimming pools, tennis and a lot of space. Simply the best place in Johannesburg if you want to relax and enjoy your self!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay with. We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future.
All the very best.
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I found this hotel on TripaAdvisor and all the accolades proved to be true! I was collected by a smiling Lucky driving a vintage Rolls Royce ( note the cost of this transfer is cheaper than a point- to-point Avis car and well worth it). Inside was a welcome letter, water bottles and hand towels. You also could peruse the hotel manual as you slipped quietly through the Johannesburg traffic which was a very good idea. The hotel is hidden discreetly in a tree lined street in upmarket Houghton a few streets away from Mandela's residence. Lucky very kindly took me past the mansion which I found particularly thrilling.
One is met by the smiling and very efficient Manageress, Sanet, and a few of the staff all lined up to greet one as though you were royalty. You sign your name on the register and accept a cooling drink while Sanet shows you around. There are two swimming pools, and plenty of long deck chairs. The gardens are manicured, the trees are home to nesting weavers and there is a pervading sense of total peace in this wonderful establishment. There are plenty places to sit, have a coffee or drink and while away the time reading or working on the computer. There is a welcoming bar, fireplaces everywhere( including in your room) and tinkling fountains and 'waterways'. Fully laid tables are dotted in many interesting places with views over the gardens and pool or in cozy nooks for more intimate dining.
It seems as though one really can eat at any time. I arrived tired and hungry and sat down to eat a delicious plate of food and superb glass of wine at 3pm. The menu is interesting and varied there are good wines to choose from with many 'glass' options and prices that were very acceptable and better than many 5 star places I have stayed in). The service was quick and very professional. I ordered room service often and the service was superb. All food in the rooms came on a table bedecked with roses and kept warm under silver dishes.. The breakfast tray
included in the price of the room was the biggest I have ever seen and the most varied! From different fresh juices, homemade muesli, homemade breads and pastries, cheeses and meats, dried fruit . You could also order a hot breakfast after you consumed this 'continental' one. I never got that far. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed- top of the range toiletries, bath salts, aromatherapy oils and the turn down includes, water, chocolates and liqueurs. There is a fridge with complimentary soft drinks, water and fresh milk for your coffee made in your special coffee maker. There were also delicious rusks to accompany your morning tea or coffee. Indoor and outdoor showers and baths and jacuzzis in some suites. Only one small quibble, the TV bouquet needs to include more varied 'International cable/DSTV channels like Sky News, NatioWild, Animal Planet, Crime, National Geographic, BBC Entertainment, History Channel etc and less of the local ones. That would make things just perfect!
Thank you Sanet, Lucky, Daniel and all the staff for pampering me and making my stay such a happy and enjoyable one! Everyone lined up to say goodbye as I was whisked back to the airport in the vintage Rolls. What a sendoff! I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 , very comfortable but which is the 'noisiest' meaning a little noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment about the extract channels and are busy with adding a wider selection.
From the team at The Residence we would like to wish you all the best and a safe and enjoyable festive season.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A colleague of mine at work recommended the Residence as fantastic value for money and not far from our Johannesburg office. I have stayed in several hotels in the Johannesburg area from Fourways to Sandton, to Rosebank and Melrose Arch, all of which were chain hotels. I have to say that whenever in Johannesburg in future for either business or pleasure I will make a point of staying here. The welcome when you arrive is fantastic, and you are given a welcoming drink. Whenever meeting staff you are always greeted with your name. The food is superb value and well cooked, I could think of no better place to have a business dinner on my first night than here and it exceeded my expectations. Two swimming pools, a small gym, spa area mean that everything you need is there. Staff out number guests!! The only drawbackis that you need a car to get anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to meet you and look forward to being of serve to you again in the near future.

The Residence team would like to wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I only had one night here but wow what an experience.

The service was amazingly good without being obsequious. Everything i needed was done. My room was just stunning. Gorgeous room, fire place, bed. Amazing terrace, hot tub...

I cannot say enough good about this place. Even when internet was down for some reason they gave me a dongle to use.

I have stayed in 1000's of hotels in my job and this is right up there in the top 5. Easily. I have to come back.

Don't stay anywhere else in Jo'Burg. This place cannot be missed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such an amazing review. We really appreciate it. It was an absolute pleasure being of service to you and hope to see you again soon.
From the team at The Residence we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well done to the owners, management and wonderful staff for a remarkable stay at your hotel.

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, your staff were outstanding in everything they did.

Rooms: spacious, luxurious, relaxed and extremely well equipped. The Amarula by the bedside, the sofa, the open fire, the desk and the table, the bed, the bathroom with its own sofa... outdoor shower and bath, private... brilliant.

Wifi is good. TV selections are good but missing some channels... but who goes to this place for the TV?! Music system, DVD player... all very good.

Your room service and restaurant food we equally excellent with wonderful home made dishes and generous proportions. The open fire... the endless orangeries around the hotel, the mini ponds... its a shame that I did not have time to use your heated pool and the covered outdoor beds!

Breakfast: a full tray of fruit, cold cheese and meats, cereals, wonderful fresh fruit and great coffee - followed by a cooked breakfast.... leave 45 mins minimum for breakfast!!

I loved this place and will be returning. I recommended a colleague who was arriving in Joburg the next day - it was that good. I came for business but would bring my family here without reservation.

Location: perfect for travel in to central Joburg and to locations outside too. 30 minutes to the airport.

Drivers: excellent. Normally pick you up in their Rolls Royce... need I say more?

Room Tip: Any room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSLAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure being of service to you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your referral we really appreciate it.
From The Residence team we wish you and your family all the best and look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a night before embarking on a safari trip. All the razor wire in the area takes a bit of getting used to but that's a Jo'burg thing. The area is upscale bit a little out of town and security is obviously an issue. The hotel is very nice, and they are adding a few new rooms. The staff is helpful and excellent without being overwhelming. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwylan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. History unfortunately has left its mark (ie presence of high walls and security) but we glad it’s a thing of the past. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Residence.
Wishing you all the best.

Kindest regards,
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#2 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With twelve designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa or simply relax and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing