We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Magnificent.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Residence is a magnificent hotel. Period. This is a unique, expansive, wonderful place with any and all amenities you might require. Honestly, they haven't missed anything in designing and planning the hotel's operations, from the layout of my room (a unit on the top floor with a private entrance, a jacuzzi, an outdoor shower, opulent decor, and a nice deck on which to sit and read a book) to the small details, like the in-room Nespresso makers and turn-down service at night. (I was surprised to return from dinner to find a fresh rose and a nightcap.) Excellence.

The service was impeccable, perfect, and lacked nothing. In fact, I'm not always a stickler about service and am generally low-maintenance, but in a region where service is often severely below-average, at The Residence it's performed with a smile and "what-else-do-you-need" attitude. The hotel is to be commended for this.

Other items of note: Breakfast was served on my deck, and it was large, varied, and fresh. The hotel also provides a refrigerator full of complimentary soft drinks, and I would recommend the hotel for its coffee selection alone: Nespresso makers *and* French presses in the rooms. Really? Yes. Thank you, Residence. Also, I don't normally watch TV, but I noticed that the room had full digital satellite service, not a scaled-down menu like you would find at most hotels.

Finally, I toured almost all of the rooms before checking out, and every room is unique and special. There is one with a *massive* outdoor deck from which you could hold a large dinner party. There are a few, like mine, with outdoor showers. I saw one with an outdoor shower that was connected to the indoor bathroom. There is a "family wing", with a private entrance and two rooms. All of the bathrooms are unique. I don't know if I've ever visited a hotel, such as this, where every room is different. Upon reflection, this makes the hotel even more special.

[Travel writers take note: visit this hotel and review it for your respective publications. It is quite a place.]

Overall, this is a superb, marvelous hotel. Please don't miss it when visiting Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I toured all of the rooms in the hotel, and they are all unique. Truly, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such an amazing review. We are so glad that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and look forward to being of service to you once again.

Kindest regards from The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    53
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
110
416
41
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway for our 1st year anniversary, and we certainly did find this at the Residence Boutique Hotel in Houghton. From the moment we drove onto the property we were treated like royalty. Robert welcomed us at the gate and the full Residence team was waiting for us with warm refresher towels and Sherry at the Reception area. The remainder of the stay was filled with pure opulence, relaxation, delicacies and 5 star treatment. Not a single detail was missed, from the silver and crystal, to decor to presentation. We especially loved the Jacuzzi on our private patio and the turndowns in the evening. We would go down for dinner and when we came back our room was filled with a beautiful scent, a rose and slippers which were laid out, as well as a nightcap and some treats as a spoil before we went to sleep.

We felt very much at home and The Residence Boutique Hotel will certainly be seeing us again.
Thank you Sanet, Joseph, Charity, Emmanuel, Jabulani, Robert, Martin and everyone we did not get to formally meet but who were all part of the entire experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a Jacuzzi and private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it and are so glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one. From the team at The Residence, Johannesburg we wish you both all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife together with myself and my daughter were lucky enough to be guests at The Residence, previously the Chinese consulate, in the prestigious suburb of Houghton. The experience was similar to staying at a fine country house on the weekend after being invited by people we didn't know well but really liked. The genuine nature of the staff, their pride in the hotel and work is readily apparent. The owners are charming and the attention to detail amazing. I see the Residence as an experiment delving back into a past era of personalized service and charm , far removed from the modern hotel experience. It is well worth the stay for that reason alone but the rooms restaurants pools and ambiance are there in spades as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this fantastic review. We really appreciate it and glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.
We wish you and your family all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to The Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Following a long and tiring trip through large swathes of Africa, I needed somewhere to catch breath, recuperate with great food & wine and enjoy a spa treatment or two before pushing on. The highest levels of personal service were top of my wish list.

I travel internationally a great deal and honestly found this hotel elevated peace and quiet, excellence of service and personal touches to a new level.

If you're staying in Johannesburg I don't believe there to be anywhere better to enjoy the very best quality of service.

I was even accompanied to local shops by the owner, so I could find the right shops in the minimum of time.

A wonderful oasis....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinStillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your amazing review. It was fantastic meeting you and im so glad we were able to provide you with the facilities to recuperate after your intense trip. From The Residence team we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon for the next trip.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Since I agree with all the accolades, I have to say something else that may be of use to my fellow travelers. Try the muesli; it is home made and delicious. Also I had the hotel pick me up, and they showed up on a, albeit dated, Rolls Royce. Nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review. We really appreciate it.
We glad you enjoyed our homemade muesli and our RRR (Residence Rolls Royce)
From The Residence Boutique hotel we wish you all the best.

KIndest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

OMG - i was lucky to find this place - heaven on earth.
i was booking Crown Plaza and luckily found this one and quickly changed the reservation - for the same price!!! i got one in a lifetime experience:

the private jacuzzi on the balcony, the outdoor shower, the team that did everything to make me feel king for two days....

don't even hesitate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvnerGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it. It was great meeting you and hope your first trip to Johannesburg, South Africa was enjoyable. From The Residence Boutique hotel we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Every single detail of The Residence is stunning. The staff, the location, the plush-ness, the incredible luxury, the ambience, the decadence...everything. There were lots of little touches that made staying here even more of a treat like the chocolate, branded bottle of water, quote and Amarula on our bedside table but we were equally wowed by the big things (the room, the service, the atmosphere). I cannot rate this highly enough. They can also pick you up in a Rolls Royce which was brilliant! The food was superb - all with cloches! -and the chef came out to make sure we were happy with our food which we were. Excellent! We felt like film stars!! definitely go there!!!

Room Tip: we had room 3 which had a very large private deck overlooking one of the pools! It had a mini lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be of service to you again in the near future. From The Residence Boutique hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa we wish you all the best.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
550 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing