We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG - Lifetime experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG - Lifetime experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

OMG - i was lucky to find this place - heaven on earth.
i was booking Crown Plaza and luckily found this one and quickly changed the reservation - for the same price!!! i got one in a lifetime experience:

the private jacuzzi on the balcony, the outdoor shower, the team that did everything to make me feel king for two days....

don't even hesitate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvnerGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it. It was great meeting you and hope your first trip to Johannesburg, South Africa was enjoyable. From The Residence Boutique hotel we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    52
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
99
392
37
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Every single detail of The Residence is stunning. The staff, the location, the plush-ness, the incredible luxury, the ambience, the decadence...everything. There were lots of little touches that made staying here even more of a treat like the chocolate, branded bottle of water, quote and Amarula on our bedside table but we were equally wowed by the big things (the room, the service, the atmosphere). I cannot rate this highly enough. They can also pick you up in a Rolls Royce which was brilliant! The food was superb - all with cloches! -and the chef came out to make sure we were happy with our food which we were. Excellent! We felt like film stars!! definitely go there!!!

Room Tip: we had room 3 which had a very large private deck overlooking one of the pools! It had a mini lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be of service to you again in the near future. From The Residence Boutique hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa we wish you all the best.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is most definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was fantastic. Martin, Charity, Joseph and Sanet were superb and were always on hand if needed. The room we stayed in had a Jacuzzi on the balcony and plenty of space, which gave the feeling that we were the only people in the hotel. Exquisite is the only word to describe this hotel and the wonderful staff. I highly recommend The Residence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniAds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such an amazing review. It was an absolute please being of service to you. From the team at The Residence Boutique hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Residence is a beautiful, very comfortable luxury hotel which provides very high level of services.
It's a small hotel with very comfortable rooms, equipped with everything you could appreciate.
The staff takes care about all the details and the resulting atmorphere is amazing.
I strongly suggest this hotel even to the most demanding guests.

Room Tip: Suite n. 1 has a nice view and a very comfortable jacuzzi on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReM3905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review. From The Residence team in Johannesburg, South Africa we would like to say thank you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent several nights here and loved every minute. The hotel and its staff are amazing. Each room is unique and done with the utmost in attention to detail. This is the best hotel I have stayed in while in South Africa by a long shot. I highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. You won't be disappointed with any of them but I would ask for a tour when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We really appreciate your kind words. Glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and hope to see you again soon. All the very best The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Perfection on each small detail. Thought about it and it was done. And done with a smile. Certainly one of the best hotels we stayed.

The hotel is quite small, with few rooms and much privacy. Each room features a living room with a fireplace and a private garden with a bathtub. Music, candles, breakfast, everything tailored to perfection!

Room Tip: I don't believe you have to care about a specific room. Let the manager surprise you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GutoFrohlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate it. From The Residence team we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We only spent one night at the Residence but immediately wished we had booked a few extra days. The staff was very welcoming and ensured every detail was taken care of. Sanet was very friendly and welcoming. She went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms and grounds were stunning and had amazing accommodations. We didn't leave the hotel and ordered room service which was very delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Residence and will absolutely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dms797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure being of service to you and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. From the team at The Residence we wish you both all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing