We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ascot Hotel(Greater Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sunnyside Park Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Berea(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveler rating
746
54
10
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
54
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserolls roycehot tubpiano barpool villamadiba suiteprivate deckturn down serviceattention to detailkoi pondnespresso machinestayed longerlittle touchesmoment you arriveresidential areahour flightsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 820 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Residence is a beautiful, very comfortable luxury hotel which provides very high level of services.
It's a small hotel with very comfortable rooms, equipped with everything you could appreciate.
The staff takes care about all the details and the resulting atmorphere is amazing.
I strongly suggest this hotel even to the most demanding guests.

Room Tip: Suite n. 1 has a nice view and a very comfortable jacuzzi on the terrace
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReM3905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review. From The Residence team in Johannesburg, South Africa we would like to say thank you and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent several nights here and loved every minute. The hotel and its staff are amazing. Each room is unique and done with the utmost in attention to detail. This is the best hotel I have stayed in while in South Africa by a long shot. I highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. You won't be disappointed with any of them but I would ask for a tour when you arrive. If you can, request room 4 or 5 and then be prepared to be impressed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We really appreciate your kind words. Glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and hope to see you again soon. All the very best The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Perfection on each small detail. Thought about it and it was done. And done with a smile. Certainly one of the best hotels we stayed.

The hotel is quite small, with few rooms and much privacy. Each room features a living room with a fireplace and a private garden with a bathtub. Music, candles, breakfast, everything tailored to perfection!

Room Tip: I don't believe you have to care about a specific room. Let the manager surprise you!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GutoFrohlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate it. From The Residence team we wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We only spent one night at the Residence but immediately wished we had booked a few extra days. The staff was very welcoming and ensured every detail was taken care of. Sanet was very friendly and welcoming. She went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms and grounds were stunning and had amazing accommodations. We didn't leave the hotel and ordered room service which was very delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Residence and will absolutely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dms797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure being of service to you and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. From the team at The Residence we wish you both all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a one day stopover in Johannesburg after coming out of Uganda, the Residence was a much needed welcome relief to an otherwise stressful business trip. From the moment my coworker and I arrived, we were made to feel like this was truly my "residence". The guided tour of the entire hotel (to include the new addition) made us feel truly welcome and appreciated. The room I had (Room 5) was quite literally the best accomodations I have ever stayed in. Every detail was taken care of. Sanet went out of her way to make sure my coworker and I had the best stay that we ever hope for. If you find yourself in Johannesburg for business or pleasure, there really is no other place to stay. Truly wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best as far as I'm concerned. Outdoor sitting area with jacuzzi and shower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMcNeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Manager at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure assisting you and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kindest regards
The Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews