We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$299
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$213
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$83
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
$86
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$189
$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
751
54
10
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
54
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserolls roycehot tubpiano barpool villamadiba suiteprivate deckturn down serviceattention to detailkoi pondnespresso machinestayed longerlittle touchesmoment you arriveresidential areahour flightsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 825 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We are Fairmont and Hilton regulars and have reached the pinnacle of each hotels loyalty programme. Our problem is that whenever we try a new place we are usually dissapointed with either the food or the service or sometimes the quality of room.

However when we arrived at the residence we were greated by a butler with a top hat and smiles from ALL the staff. During our stay the manageress Sanet made us feel extremely comfortable and ensured that we were happy at all times - One does not get this level of service anywhere else!

Our breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and really left us feeling satisfied and ready for the day.

I am extremely impressed with The Residence and will always return!

Room Tip: We highly recommend the honeymoon suite, it is private with your own jacuzzi and spacious outdoor area!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaun_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day soon, until then we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel certainly lives up to the photos posted on the website and then some,it surpassed my wildest expectations,the management and staff certainly know how to give their guests that welcome home away from home treatment with a touch of class added for good measure which these days seems to be lost in the rush of doing business and that certainly gets my vote,the decor the fitments the ambience all feels like a warm shower at the end of the day and you know the details are taken care of.
This establishment certainly gets the nod in all areas great stuff guys love it!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLH918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you so much, we really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day soon, until then we would all like to wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

When travelling alone there is nothing more welcoming then being made to feel you're a part of something, and for me, staying at The Residence is just that. Its a touch of Elegance that takes you away into a relaxed and calming environment, with friendly, efficient and helpful staff. The rooms are warm and inviting, and just as beautiful as in the photo's. Should you wish to dine in, the breakfasts are scrumptious and their lunches / dinners delicious.

I would highly recommend it, and shall soon be returning as its simply the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MishRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day soon. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I recently stayed at The Residence for a few nights. As a regular traveller, I can honestly say this was the nicest and most comfortable hotel I have stayed at! The hotel is very boutique and has a lovely homely feel. The facilites ie pool, spa, jacuzzis, even tennis court are second to none. As for the rooms & suites - words are hard to find. I satyed in a suite and it was presented in a very luxurious manner will all the facilites needed and more! The staff are so friendly too, makes such a difference to larger hotels with staff who are mere numbers - there staff are more than happy in their jobs and offer a service that shows this.
If you ever go to JoBurg and need somewhre out of this world and different to stay - you MUST visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Suite 5 is worth having if you want mroe space and privacy (it has its own jacuzzi!).
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day soon and would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent three wonderful nights in this boutique property that is situated in a convenient, easy to find location. Guests are treated like VIPs the moment they enter the property. Best possible score for cleanliness, kind staff, and breakfast. Rooms are fluffed up all day. I won't even bother posting photos, since the property and rooms look just like they do in the professional photos. If the Mandarin or Peninsula groups operated a guesthouse, it would be like this. It is pricier than other guesthouses in Johannesburg, but worth every cent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you so much for your review, it was such a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back, some day soon. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews