We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen - MOVED

Cube Tasting Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After booking well in advance we got there on a Saturday evening only to find out the main restaurant was full and they have put some tables in a empty shop. Felt we were sitting in a garage. We should have been notifiied. Terrible experience and they are greedy to try and push us inyo a empty shop

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank willem312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    98
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wonderful 11 course meal at not too bad a price. Interesting combinations, some of the dishes were a few of the best I've ever tasted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If ever in Johannesburg eat at the Cube!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As a foodie, I was looking forward to my July 2nd dinner with great anticipation and was not disappointed. I found communicating easy via email from the US, Dario's suggestions for taking the Guatrain to Rosebank (and then cab it to the restaurant...try Zebra Cabs) a great help for curbing transportation costs, and the food was truly extraordinary. I do say this was the best very meal I have ever had in my entire, almost 60 year old, life. I enjoyed every course, watching the kitchen, the staff (chatty and attentive) and Chef Alex's descriptions. I would go out of my way to get to Joburg and this restaurant again if I were anywhere near South Africa. The only thing that was a negative was that I spent more on RT transportation from OR Tambo than the meal itself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't wate your Randelas”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Its all very well that everything looks fancy, but it must taste good too.
I don't understand what all the hype was about. I felt that it was a complete waste of money.
There isn't much of an atmosphere and the décor is limited.
Hate it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some of the best food ever, anywhere.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went as a group of friends and booked the whole restaurant (well OK, 30 people is what it takes). Paul Cluver treated us to wine with the 10 course meal, which was absolutely brilliant, some of the best food i'd ever enjoyed. Each of the courses had a number of really complex elements - Heston style! Well worth it. Expect to stay at least 3 hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing