We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over sunstance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen

Cube Tasting Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Style over sunstance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Supposed to be the best culinary experience in the city, but I'm afraid to say I just found it a bit pretentious and lacking in real flavour. All our courses came covered in a sprinkling of pea shoots. Service was very pleasant .Maybe it wasn't their night in the kitchen. An international diner would not be impressed.

Helpful?
4 Thank chieftany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    97
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very unusual restuarant, small and simple decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I took a guest from New York after she had read an article in the New York Times called "36 hours in Johannesburg". This was also my first visit there. There is no signage outside, (not that i could see). Intimate, the service is excellent, and courses are very creative. My guest told me that this type of eclectic meal originated in Spain, and is now offered at select places. I found the many courses a little too much. However, my guest downed 2 bottles of wine, and loved every minute of it! A very different experience. Safe parking with car attendant nearby.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThornteeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An extraordinary gourmet experience in a casual setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I made the reservation, I didn't know what to expect but I had gone on the recommendation of a friend who delights in a good meal. Well this is not your ordinary Johannesburg restaurant and it is not just a good restaurant. It is Johannesburg's answer to those who think only Cape Town can serve up a gourmet meal.

In three and a half hours you find yourself on a gourmet tasting journey that keeps delighting and surprising with just enough to satisfy but not too much to feel over-indulged. The experience starts with an email which gives detailed instructions on when to arrive, what to expect, the actual menu of 12 courses which changes monthly, and what kind of wine to bring with you, since the restaurant does not have a liquor license.

Reading the menu, you might think the atmosphere be very formal and control. However, to my surprise and delight I was able to enjoy fantastic food in a casual and relaxed atmosphere but not very spacious. The chef, Dario, presents each dish patiently and clearly. The price per person was R500 which by Johannesburg standards is not cheap, but by world standards extremely reasonable and certainly great value for this quality of food, presentation, and taste.

I can't wait for another occasion to return. Don't go to this restaurant on a business dinner. Go to this restaurant with foodie friends and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Brilliant restaurant, I loved the simplicity of the interior and as the food had such impact the two went perfectly together. Delicious, creative and well presented food. I personally found 11 courses a little too much, I think even 8 or 9 would be perfect. Excellent service. We enjoyed our evening and food so much we hired one of the chefs to come and cater at a dinner party of ours. The chef and his assistant were very professional and friendly too. The food was absolutely scrumptious. I highly recommend Cube.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cube - incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

What an incredible evening!
I recently went to Cube with family, and after having been advised by Dario as to the wine pairings we should bring, we arrived at Cube in Parktown North laden with a variety of wines, hungry for our dinner.
Cube is dressed minimally, and it's a small restaurant, seating no more than 40 people inside. The kitchen is visible from the dining room and guests can watch the magic happening across the room.
The small collection of staff are knowledgeable, attentive and seriously on-the-ball.

The food....oh, where to start!!??
The menu changes every 2 or 3 months, from what I gather, meaning the ingredients are seasonal and only the best.
Dario takes the ordinary and makes it completely extraordinary, if you'll excuse the cliche.
We were lucky enough to experience 11 courses of heaven.
We were told that if we were getting too full, they would decrease the size of the portions, and likewise, if we were not getting enough, they would "super-size" them.
Without asking for an increase or decrease in size, all the men and women felt full and satiated after the meal, but not uncomfortably stuffed....I'm not sure if men and women are served different portions, but we all left very happy.

I won't go into what each course comprised of, for fear of spoiling it for you.

It is expensive. We brought all our own wine, and ended up paying R1200.00 per couple, for the meal, the tip and 2 bottles of water.
This being said, I plan on making my visit to Cube a quarterly event....

I can't really say any more, other than get yourself a booking at Cube and go and eat their incredible culinary magic as SOON as you can!!!! I know I'm going to!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimeelloyd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cube Tasting Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing