We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Joburg tour”
Review of Felleng Day Tours

Felleng Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a tour company who specializes in safaris and providing guiding services for individuals and groups who decides to come to South/Southern Africa and East Africa for a holiday. Guided tours are conducted to: Soweto, Pilanesberg Game Reserve, Sterkfontein Caves, Pretoria, Cullinan Diamond Mine etc. We also conduct tours to The Kruger National Park, Victoria Falls and Cape Town to name a few. Our safaris are conducted to Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Kenya, and Tanzania and what a nice way to combine a safari in Tanzania with a beach holiday in Zanzibar Each individual traveling to Africa has unique requirements, wishes and dreams. For many it is a journey of a lifetime, others might be searching for a glimpse of a rare endemic bird. We take great care in discovering what you want from your safari before making our recommendations. Our aim is to share our passion for Africa and to act as your hosts in this special continent. Hence, the sample itineraries we feature on our website are purely an illustration of the range of possibilities we offer, highlighting the prime wilderness areas and a few of the particularly special camps and lodges we offer our guests.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent the last couple of days of our trip to South Africa in Johannesburg due to a late flight change. Not having a car, I booked a days tour with Felleng, visiting the Aparthied Museum, Soweto and other attractions. We had a wonderful day, Agnes was an excellent guide and introduced us to some inspiring young people in Soweto. For any small group or single travellers I would'nt hesitate in recommending Felleng tours.

Thank notmovingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felleng, Owner at Felleng Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Chris and Barbara. What a great day we had together. Talking and laughing and telling each other stories. We make such a lot of friends all over the world. Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 517 of 668 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked Agnes as our guide because of high reviews on Trip Advisor. Everyone was spot on. Agnes is a true professional but even more she is compassionate and truly cares about the real people of Soweto. Being able to ask hard questions and go at our own pace allowed us to get a real understanding of not only the history of Soweto but also its future. Personal safety is not the reason you need a guide in Soweto. Agnes is necessary because navigation would be difficult without her and her friendships with local people allow you to see more than you could ever alone. This was a life changing experience and I will be forever grateful to Felleng Tours.

1  Thank islander519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felleng, Owner at Felleng Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We had such a great day together. Thank you very much for you great review. We loved to show you around so that you can see the different ways of living in Soweto. Stay well and hope we do meet you again in South Africa one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I reserved this tour through the internet. Agnes was our guide for the day. She is a friendly, experienced guide who showed us Soweto with the eye of an insider. This tour will provide a genuine experience of the Soweto township, meeting the friendly people and learning about a youth project involved in Soweto. It was the best way to experience Soweto and to learn about and absorb the history of the area. The Apartheid Museum puts it all into perspective tracing the steps to the end of Apartheid, becoming a good way to end the tour.
Touring with Agnes was the only way to see and experience Soweto.

2  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felleng, Owner at Felleng Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much that you took the time to write a review. We appreciate it. It was so nice to take you around and I do not get tried of Soweto. The people in Soweto are always so friendly and it is much safer there than in the city. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had reserved a day in Sowato with Agnes 5 months before, having seen the TripAdvisor reviews. We didn't really know what to expect, but what an experience! There is no question that we could have done this visit by ourselves, we wouldn't have got off the starting blocks.

Agnes was on time to pick us up from the hotel and drove us to Soweto. She described the history of the area and pointed out so many little details - live chickens being sold, barbers by the side of the road, preparations for feeding mourners after a funeral, cars on ramps for repairs .....

It is quite clear that Agnes is well known and welcome in Soweto. We were taken to a youth project where a local guide a took us into houses, into a school and showed us how the project aids the community. We were greeted by the residents and free to take photos. The very young children in school were particularly enthusiastic.

It wasn't late when we came out of the Apartheid museum, so she took us to the Constitutional court and other sights that she doesn't always include.

I am still reeling from the experience. If you want to see Sowato, this is the way to do it.

Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felleng, Owner at Felleng Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. I also enjoyed it to take you around. Soweto is always more alive and the real experience than the apartheid museum that can drain you a bit. I do love the people of Soweto. It was so nice to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

From the planning to the payment everything was first class with Agnes and Rudie the tour operators. We were taken to Soweto where Anges is as popular as Nelson Mandela. The people are friendly and without Agnes I don't think we would have been given such an exclusive look -- we saw the flat of a local for example and had children sing to us.

I can go on for more but then I would ruin the surprise. Ring them up and see for yourself.

Thank C_and_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felleng, Owner at Felleng Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. We had a wonderful time together and a lot of fun.
I hope that this is not the last time that you are going to visit South Africa and then we take you again on some tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felleng Day Tours also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Felleng Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing