We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gosh this was fun.”

Rosebank Roof Market
Ranked #39 of 171 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gosh this was fun.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On Sundays, the Rosebank Mall has the roof market, and the African Craft market is also running. Prices here are a bit more than they are in other parts of Africa, but you can have an awful lot of fun shopping and bargaining. Bargain hard - it's part of the fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tcrowell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    41
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice selection of African souveniers at reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to this market on a Sunday after first arriving in Johannesburg and bought a few things. Then, a month later, we returned when we knew what we really wanted. The roof is nice, but the market below is open all the time. You have to deal with a few pesky, persistent sales people, but at the end of our trip, we knew the prices were here were very good. They have a huge variety of items made in Africa...not just South Africa.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Sunday morning”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Well worth the look but make sure you have plenty of small notes in your pocket. Don't be affraid to try the food fro mthe food court!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lots of variety”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The roof top market is my “flea market” preference. I love the fact that there are so many different items, from useful to not, some bargains to the expensive. Add in some delectable food stalls (pick up a cheese or 10, try some Indian delights, or even a decadent pastry/cake), with fabulous jewellery, and art stalls, you will surely find something here to take home or give as a gift.
I have spent many hours browsing, and rarely come home empty handed. I love Christmas as stall holders seem to come out with the most wonderful décor, and gift ideas. Stall holders are not pushy, but will be happy to help you with whatever you need. The Info desk is most useful and helpful.
Hop on the Gautrain and have a sunday outing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend Flea Market”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Check out my review for "African Craft Market". If you like flea markets, check this out on weekends from about 10:00 AM until 5:00 PM.

I bought a few beautiful, hand-made bottle stoppers from one of the stalls. I also bought a bottle opener made from an animal's tusk from another stall.

I'd go back and shop there again! :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Missy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebank Roof Market also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Rosebank Roof Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing