We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koi

Koi
Ranked #61 of 1,173 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We all enjoyed the various meals ordered, from dim sum to crispy fried duck. There was a good wine and cocktails list and the server was very knowledgeable. I will go back.

Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    94
    30
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Koi for oriental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food. The tom yum goong soup is good and so are the roast duck spring rolls. Nice ambience and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Shandar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent food and great atmosphere and have been here numerous times. There is a great vibe and is always full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanDavis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Consistently Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great food , personal service and friendly staff. Been there many times and never been dissappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Koi offers a really lovely meal in a vibey atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've eaten at Koi in Pretoria a number of times, so when I saw there was a Koi near where I was staying in Johannesburg, I made my way there very quickly for dinner and I was not disappointed! My son and I had the most beautiful piece of seared tuna marinated in ponzu - we savoured each and every mouthful. We were sorely tried with the dessert menu options - how do you choose between lemon grass creme brulee, sake and green tea Tiramusu, chocolate and banana spring rolls and many more. We chose the brulee and the Tiramisu and all I can say is yum!
I am definitely going to eat at Koi again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing