We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great fod, great vibe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koi

Koi
Ranked #69 of 1,084 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
640 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great fod, great vibe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Try the sashimi platter and the hoi sin calamari starter (even as a main course), this place has great food and very friendly and good service. Great vibe, always book ahead, it is quite popular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    85
    27
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

El Fresco dinning with a nice vibe. The best Dim Sum and Sushi dishes in Johannesburg. Professional service and modern decor. Romantic lunch time destination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Sushi Venue in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent vibe; very popular, good value and good quality Sushi. Frequented by financial and business community in the finacial hub of Africa, Sandton

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi king!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love going to Koi during a lunch break for the best sushi in town. They have good service, a nice atmosphere and it is easy to break away for a decent meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Croft57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I like their style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I liked the style of the decor (contemporary, simple, tasteful) and the food we had was of a very high standard. I loved the dim sum. If I lived near there, I'd go there often for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing