We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great fod, great vibe!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koi

Koi
Ranked #52 of 1,125 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
698 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Great fod, great vibe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Try the sashimi platter and the hoi sin calamari starter (even as a main course), this place has great food and very friendly and good service. Great vibe, always book ahead, it is quite popular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    88
    30
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

El Fresco dinning with a nice vibe. The best Dim Sum and Sushi dishes in Johannesburg. Professional service and modern decor. Romantic lunch time destination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Sushi Venue in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent vibe; very popular, good value and good quality Sushi. Frequented by financial and business community in the finacial hub of Africa, Sandton

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi king!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love going to Koi during a lunch break for the best sushi in town. They have good service, a nice atmosphere and it is easy to break away for a decent meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Croft57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I like their style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I liked the style of the decor (contemporary, simple, tasteful) and the food we had was of a very high standard. I loved the dim sum. If I lived near there, I'd go there often for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing