We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Koi

Koi
Ranked #51 of 1,212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Fantastic fusion of Eastern and modern cuisine. Very trendy and popular eatery with excellent service and mind-blowing food. The dim sum and sushi is simply divine and a nice selection of imported saki rounds off the experience. Duck is also a must!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    97
    31
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“awesome!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Koi is one of my favourite lunch time spots. Wide asian menu and only the best ingredients. Do indulge in the calamari for starters and some dim sum. Also my favourite is the little sweet treat served with coffees. Always vibey and food great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank zajhbfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful environment”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great food, lovely position - with indoor and outdoor eating areas. Children friendly. Attentive service, excellent quality all round.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Asian that blows the socks off everyone else!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had previously visited Koi in Sandton, but it was on a night when the nightclub next door was opening, and there were revellers everywhere. It was noisy and not a great experience.

I did, however, visit Koi in Rosebank yesterday. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed. There are kids playing in the fountain, and a general jovial outdoor environment.

We started with a dim sum platter and some unusual sushi. Both were a feast for the taste buds. Each mouthful more memorable than the next. Their speciality tiger rolls were superb and by far the best sushi & dim sum I have had in a very long time - only bested by the real thing in Asia!

We next had the crispy Peking duck - which comes with pancakes and a divine hoisin sauce. Highly recommended.

The quality of the service, food and atmosphere is a 10/10 for me. Very child friendly, very relaxed and very, very good cuisine. I can't wait to go back to try more of their amazing menu!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent contemporary Asian food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Located next to the Rosebank mall, this design restaurant serves excellent contemporary Asian food. We really enticed their dim sum, roasted duck and curry. Prices are very reasonable, service is good, and the atmosphere is trendy and hip. Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank semager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing