We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”
Review of House on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House on York
Ranked #48 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Inspite of my email a day earlier of our ETA and acknowledged by Gavin the owner, there was no one at the hotel to check us in. The only person available was the house maid who had no clue who we were. After little checking on her mobile phone she showed us to our rooms and left soon after for the weekend without explaining the facility and showing amenities. The manager appeared later and told that he had to be away to attend some meeting and left soon after. A very disappointing first impression of a 3 star self-catering facility. Except for another guest, I think we were the only occupants on that night.

We were a party of eight family members (5 adults and 3 children). We had reserved one three bedroom cottage and one standard double room for two nights stay. The 3 bedroom part was independent and furnished to sleep six while the double bedroom was in the old residence converted into this hotel. The owner has tried to make the place as compact and homely as possible by putting pool and game table, computer station in the lounge and providing playground for kids and gym area for the grownups in the yard.

Gavin, the owner, arrived early next morning and was very apologetic. He told that he was not present because of his out of town anniversary event and offered to make it up for us. Gavin is a charming fellow with lots of stories and good information about the city sights. Bottles of wine appeared in our room the second night.

The location, although with good access to the airport road, is in a somewhat rundown part of the city on an almost deserted street except for the children at a nearby school. The nearest grocery store is more than a KM away.

I will not be staying at this hotel on my next visit to Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived early evening and it was dark. Initially we found it hard to find but that was because the satnav was poor. Once there we were overjoyed by the room and the owners help. He was a wealth of information and stories. Everything kids could ever want and nothing was a problem. This was a 1 night stay and we were given full run of the property and even offered use of shower facilities and a late departure. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. Only advice for Johannesburg is....hire a car, even for one day this is the cheapest and best way to get around and be independent. Some suburbs leave you as a prisoner. Day time was safe at York but wouldn't like to venture out at night. Couldn't fault the property though or the ownership. Marvellous.

Room Tip: The units vary and are limted on numbers but all are excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANTHONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Its in a quiet neighborhood and safe locality. From outside it doesnt look much but its real comfortable inside. They had real good beds with complimentary wine. We left early so could not enjoy the breakfast. Each room is decorated tastefully

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KichuJena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

From the outside it doesn't look like much but inside it feels like you're at home.
We were in 3 different rooms in our group, all of which had their unique feeling. Very homely and plenty of space. The place has all the facilities you need and a large communal area with a heap of games including pool and foosball. Plus a sauna and pool for the summer season.
Gavin and the staff here were great. Very helpful.
I had to stay an extra night at the last minute and even though they were booked out he worked it out without a problem.
The surrounding neighbourhood itself was very safe during the day and at night we went out to eat at one of many nearby restaurants .
HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: Wooden cabin at the rear of the premises has an almost bungalow appearance, a jungle cabin in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MatthewThomasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at House on York for one night with a family of five. The family unit in the garden was excellent with lots of space and a real homey atmosphere. Kids could play crocket in the garden. Service was very friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient in a safe area, near Eastgate mall and the airport. A great alternative to a hotel in terms of personal attention, family accommodation, and most certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This couldn't have been more perfect. Gavin was amazingly helpful, both over email prior to the booking, during the process and whilst we were staying. The taxi driver met us off the place as promised and we were welcomed by the night manager with a big smile!

Our room was great, super comfy bed, loads of space and a powerful shower. We heard no noise, had a good internet connection and felt completely safe.
Breakfast was delicious, with a huge selection to choose from, it was a shame we slept late & had to rush back to the airport as we could have stayed at breakfast for hours!

Room Tip: We were outside of the main building, about 10m from the main building, very private and secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirkhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#36 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
21.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $50 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing