We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of La Cucina di Ciro

La Cucina di Ciro
Ranked #71 of 1,231 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In a society where everything is about the pace of modern living, sometimes we need to be reminded to take the time to enjoy one's food while sitting around a dinner table.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tasteless stuffed calamari. Horrible dry duck with so called roast vegetables - reminder of those dreaded boardinghouse dry stale potatoes. Overly sweet cranbury stuff probably to offset the roasted duck leg that was done at 4pm the afternoon. Awful collapsed porridge soufflé with chunks of left over orange skins. Chef special Pork with crisp crackling that was served as a dry something with a soggy skin thing. And Expensive!!! Thanks but never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciro_Molinaro, Owner at La Cucina di Ciro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

i am disappointed that you did not call me over and give your comments personally . i am intrigued that this review has to be written on trip advisor, and whilst you were in the restaurant nothing was mentioned or highlighted.please be honest enough and give the restranteur the opportunity to sort the problems out on the evening as we would like you to enjoy your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for La Cucina di Ciro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 130 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ciro is an absolute gem - no one does Duck like he does it. Nothing better than superb food and a great Moreson bubble in brilliant atmosphere with a great woman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KeithMcKay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Every time I have been here I have had something delicious and new to try... The menu is updated frequently and the best part is that the chef himself comes to tell you the specials! Portions sizea are perfect as well. It is a pricey meal but all worth it so treat yourself out! Definitely a must try on my recommeded places to eat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelBug00739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I can never be bothered to write reviews but in exceptional cases....... I also booked on the recommendations I read on trip advisor. The restaurant does not have a great deal of kerb appeal. In fact we wondered if we had the right place. But once inside it is warm and friendly with great service. The main thing is the food...it is superb!! Wonderful flavours and everything freshly prepared, better than a lot of Johannesburg's so called top restaurants. If you are a foodie you will not be disappointed.

Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Moved few months in the country and i must say that apart from the grill/ steaks places, i have not been impressed with the restaurants in Joburg. This one is a lovely exception:) great italian, fresh ingridients, beautiful combinations of food, many choices, lovely atmosphere, great service. Overall an original, italian place. Will be going back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank homenistantasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Ciro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Dunkeld West, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to La Cucina di Ciro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing