We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cucina di Ciro

La Cucina di Ciro
Ranked #60 of 1,186 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In a society where everything is about the pace of modern living, sometimes we need to be reminded to take the time to enjoy one's food while sitting around a dinner table.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My friend and I showed up half-starved on the La Cucina di Ciro’s door-step on the busy night of 2011’s “Christmas in July” celebrations. Although fully booked and already busy, we were welcomed with warm smiles and asked to wait just a few minutes while they whip-up a table for us. In true magic-of-Christmas style, a spare table from the back materialized before us within moments decked with crisp linen, warm candle-light and beautiful flowers.
The menu was no disappointment either: one selection more delicious sounding then the next. All our dishes were truly superb: beautifully plated, delicious and sized just right. The desserts were a pure slice of heaven.
The entire experience was wonderful: we felt cared for, nourished and were welcomed and treated as if we were amongst family and friends (well, at least ones that can REALLY cook!). What more could you wish for from a Christmas dinner?

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CristinaGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Chef does not know best!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

the al dente pasta was crunchy like corn flakes.....

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calitzdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Parktown North greats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I love Parktown North beacuase there are so many independently owned restaurants. Here Chef Patron Ciro has a beautiful space serving classic trattoria dishes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Way to snatch defeat out of the jaws of victory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

La Cucina di Ciro used to be a favourite of ours - but as often happens when things grow predictable it also turns stale and disappointing.

We booked a table there for our three year anniversary due to a level of sentimentality we have for the venue. We ordered a low-grade bottle of wine, two starters and two main meals, the combined price of which is R685. This restaurant is seriously pricey, and you don't necessarily get value for money.

My partner ordered the line fish of the night - the Kabeljou baked in a herb crust with anchovies. That's what he ordered, what he got was plain Scottish Salmon on mash (mind you, still priced at R165). On questioning this novel interpretation of our order we were were informed that they ran out of Kabeljou and that's what the meal now turns out to be. At this point we've already of course sent the meal back, but the kitchen thought it appropriate to just send meagre apologies and the meal back - half eaten by this time of course.

We bought this to the attention of the co-owner and the manager, who with a shrug of his shoulders just dismissed the entire incident.

This is an symmetrically appropriate response, since we will from now on dismiss this formally good venue with a shrug of our own shoulders.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Italian in a nice ambiance with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

High end prices but the ambiance and the service make up what it misses in authenticity. The Italian is influenced by the SA flavour. Pasta dishes are not great but the menu offers good alternatives. Not very exiting but of high quality and prepared with care.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina di Ciro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to La Cucina di Ciro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing