We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leighwood Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$299
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$186
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$213
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$83
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$86
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$189
$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
94
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious breakfastcharming hostshome from homethe perfect place to staygoing the extra milelarge rooman absolute pleasureguest housevisit johannesburgbusiness tripthe ground floorrestaurants and shopswalking distanceexcellent staytwo nightsattention to detailsam
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 102 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The best guest house I have stayed in Johannesburg. The rooms are large with all the features you would expect. The minibar is well priced, nothing better than sitting in the garden, enjoying an African sunset. Very close to Rosebank and Sandton where the are plenty of choices for a meal, however your welcome to join the family for a home cooked meal, which is great.

I will be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Luxurious "Bed & Breakfast" in quiet suburb of Johannesburg. Spacious room tastefully decorated with modern bathroom which had a tub and a shower. Very comfortable bed.

Excellent breakfast with fruit salad, cereals, bacon, sausage, eggs etc. - you fill in the order the evening before and state the time you want to have it!

Friendly owners and helpful staff. Definitely a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room which doesn't face the parking area, otherwise you might get disturbed by guests coming and going at all kinds of hours. Also the downstairs rooms have to have their blinds closed as people walk by the whole time.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirondelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lovely big room, well decorated, excellent taste and a nice big shower. I appreciated the fresh milk in the fridge for my coffee, good selection of everything. I enjoyed the whole experience apart from the person getting my breakfast the next morning, he was short and abrupt and it felt as if I was in the way and a burden.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights during a business trip. I had a great room, very spaceous and with a large bathroom.The service was perfect and the owners Sam and Leigh were absolutley helpful with for any questions or issues. The Lodge is located in a nice quiet neighbourhood, close to Rosebank Mall. The Breakfast a la Carte is delicious, especially the omlet.
I would recommend Leighwood Lodge anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First of all, the room was superb, spacious, decorated with great taste, fantastic bed. The bathroom was also great, with both a spacious shower and a really nice bath tub. Complimentary biscuits, coffee and tea were available, as well as a fridge in the room with some items to sell. I did however have some issues with the staff. My room was on the ground floor and I was forced to close all the blinds all the time because it was located by the gate and the main path way, for example one early evening one member of the staff kept walking by and peeking in through the window (as a woman travelling alone that did not make me feel comfortable at all). There was also a miscommunication around keys (due to a lack of information) which led to me being scolded like a school child by a member of the staff and by a member of the management team. This happened while I was sitting down to have breakfast and I thought the timing and the tone was completely inappropriate. However the other member of the management team was lovely and very helpful. The location was good, in a quiet and very safe neighbourhood, and a five minute cab ride from the Rosebank train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (and not ground floor) to get a view and also prevent staff from peeking in.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews