We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in JHB”
Review of Leighwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leighwood Lodge
Ranked #18 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best B&B in JHB”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Leighwood lodge is a wonderful B&B. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are big with big en suites that are modern, the rooms are also clean and everything works to make it a wonderful experience and ideal for businessmen and people staying in JHB as tourists or passing through. It is central and close to the main Sandton CBD, which is home to big business in SA.

Room Tip: Ask for Sam
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budapest78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
18
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

As a company on conference in JHB 4 times per year, it is an absolute pleasure to be hosted at Leighwood. We often fill the guest house and all agree that it is our favourite venue.
The lodge is beautiful. The bedrooms are 5 star. Excellent. Thank you Sam and Leigh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Big luxurious rooms, very comfortable beds, quiet location.
Way better than all the other guest houses in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Mauritius15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Despite my mistake in booking date, Sam, owner of Leighwood, and the staff made us feel welcome as they made room for us at this B&B in a beautiful part of town. Fielding phone calls for us, dropping us off to meet friends, serving a delicious breakfast (try the granola with macadamia nuts!) took our minds off what could have been a disaster. Instead, we had a relaxing time in a spacious room with the fragrance of two blossoming trees wafting in from the Leighwood Lodge courtyard.

Room Tip: Over-sized King beds fit my 6'7" husband. Our host wanted to know if the bed size was suff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stay on business about 2 nights a wwek in Johannesburg. I will not stay anywhere else......Leighwood Lodge is everything I need: beautiful rooms, perfectly kept, with adequate everything. Competitive pricing and more cost effective than dreary hotels. Amazing staff in Henry & his wife....always smiling & available to help and managed by Sam and Leigh who always make me feel at home when I am far from home & family.
Dont consider staying anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs - better cellphone signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The property is immaculate, the rooms beautiful and the service fantastic! Loved the huge shower, king size bed and attention to detail. The hospitality was fantastic - Mel and Henry were so kind and welcoming! We will definitely stay there AGAIN and AGAIN

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great and welcoming accommodation in a beautiful and central part of Johannesburg. Beautiful rooms and a friendly service will make us return any day.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnameSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.7 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
589 reviews
2.3 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighwood Lodge

Property: Leighwood Lodge
Address: 41 2nd Avenue | Park Town North, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leighwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leighwood Lodge is a four-star boutique guest house in Parktown North, Johannesburg. The lodge is ideal for both up-market corporate giuests travelling to Johannesburg on business, and leisure travellers looking for central accommodation close to the city centre and the northern suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leighwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing