We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
12 Decades Art Hotel
Ranked #73 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night, it's a great hotel. The Maboneng district is a neat neighbourhood in central Joburg currently undergoing revitalization and this hotel is part of the process. It is 'hip', if you will with nice rooms and almost a loft/apartment style feel. Reasonably priced as well with included secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketracel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, Manager at 12 Decades Art Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Urban Hip Hotels has taken over the management of the hotel recently and we aim to keep and improve on the "hip" personality of this hotel. there is always room for improvement and we continue the quest in exceeding guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
27
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

As you can tell from the other reviews 12 Decades has its ups and downs. The professional website belies the backpacker lodge management - whilst the rooms are very cool, from my 2 stays to date the hotel is under-resourced both in financial and personnel terms.

From the rather silly parking set-up where you have to park on the street (probably a block away), check in, and only then park in the car park, to a booking mix-up, a non working credit card machine, and being given a room under miner refurbishment. However the view from the roof top (get there for sunset and bring a camera) and sleeping in a work of art does make up for these continual teething troubles.

Location-wise the Maboneng precinct is youthful and funky, but at night it does feel like a self-contained enclave surrounded by some pretty sketchy areas - much more so than Braamfontein for example. But on balance 12decades is a much more interesting and memorable place than a bland northern suburb guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jqg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Deplorable and unreliable.We had two rooms reservations confirmed via e-mail two months in advance and our accommodation was provided to different customers. It is a situation I do not recommend anybody to go through.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My Wife and I decided to spend the weekend at the hotel in order to take advantage of the vibey Maboneng Precinct.

A very unique experience. We were there for two nights so we asked to sleep in a different room each night .The first night we slept in the "Who is Hebert Dlomo " (1936-1946) room. Very beautiful design. The only problem was the bed. It was very high and the mattress was very hard. Sleeping was very uncomfortable. Otherwise it was a great room.

The second night we slept in the "Perpetual Liberty" (1996-2006). We loved everything about this room. Very big and very bright , the sun was shining through nicely. This time around the bed was very comfortable. Simple design but very nice.

The other downside of the hotel was the coldness. We visited during winter and it was very cold. They do not have air-conditioners or underfloor heating. We were using the simple fin oil heater. It did not help as the rooms are very big and cold.

Generally a beautifully designed hotel. Very pleasant staff. It is nicely located next to nice restaurants , the bioscope and cafes. I would definitely come back to experience the other rooms (during the summer season, though).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I enjoyed a lovely stay here for almost a week in July 2011. The neighborhood nearby may look a bit scary for those who aren't used to inner city life, but as a middle aged single woman I felt safe walking around to the neighborhood shops. I was greatly rewarded by choosing to stay at 12 Decades. The hotel shares the block with an art gallery, live theatre (Pop Art) cute coffee shop (Chalkboard), independant movie house, and a restaurant next door with live music (Pata Pata). So you don't have to travel far...plus buses & taxis are nearby. When I arrived I was very warmly greeted by the young woman at the desk, both front desk ladies were exceptionally helpful & friendly throughout my stay. I stayed in the glamourous 1920's decade room & enjoyed the very tall comfy bed, the velveteen curtains, and the artsy touches in the room. There was a full kitchen complete with dishes, glassware, pots, etc. The maid even washed my dishes whenever she saw some! There wasn't much of a view and the mostly bare floors could use some more carpets, a bit chilly in the winter. There;s a secure elevator w/ a doorman nearby to let you into the area to the hotel. There are also rented flats in the bldg. When I had a question, Gabriel, the general manager was quick & professional with his help.

Room Tip: Research the rooms & decide which ones intrigue you the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona-isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at this cleverly conceptualised inner-city hotel a few weeks ago. It's different to anywhere else we've stayed, except possibly Daddy Long Legs on Long Street in Cape Town, in that it's small, simple, uniquely designed (with 12 different rooms, each intelligently themed to match a decade in South Africa's history) and able to offer one of the most awe-inspiring views of Joburg I have ever seen. Both at twilight and at dawn.

Our room, A PART LOVE A PART HATE, had some lovely touches, and a few things I'd have liked to buy for our house. But it was a little too stark for me, especially when I saw the room next door - PONTE OBSCURA - which was absolutely *exquisite* and well worth a visit. The attention to service detail also left a fair bit to be desired, in the following respects:

1. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3pm, due to a late check-out, and once it had been cleaned, there were still a few pieces of paper lying around from the previous occupant. The rugs and floor were also less than pristine, and the bedside lamp wasn't working.
2. The parking system is silly. You have to park on the street, go inside, check in, and then get a voucher to enable you to park underground. The hotel should just email it.
3. Once you're inside the parking area, there is no way to get into the hotel without walking back out onto the street (due to a biometric security system), which is annoying if you have lots of luggage.
4. The in-room services directory is out of date - the hotel should perhaps give each guest a simple two-page overview of what's on and what's available on check-in, as there's a lot to see, do and eat, but this can be wasted if you don't know exactly where to go, and when.

In terms of value for money, a night at 12 Decades is not expensive. BUT if you like more luxury, the Hyde Park Hotel is around the same price per night (for a standard room that is beautiful but small and utterly lacking in decent views) and 4-star.

Beyond these things, most of which are easy fixes, we had a lovely stay. Canteen at Arts on Main, a short walk away, had superb food and service, and a beautiful setting. We had a nice (but not amazing) breakfast at Eat Your Heart Out, and an interesting stroll around the area. I would have loved to try the spa, which had unfortunately not opened yet, but the rooftop area is glorious, and a great spot for a drink on a Sunday evening or a Saturday yoga class.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Interesting hotel in a formerly (well still currently) rundown part of Johannesburg located in the Maboneng development area, part of which is the Arts on Main facility. Each of the 12 rooms is decorated in a specific style to represent the decade. So in effect you are staying in a piece of art, quite a cute concept and certainly very different for me. There were drawbacks with the room, Ponte Opscura, that we were in. i.e. no cupboard space, no bedside tables and most importantly for a self catering hotel, no microwave. For a single night not an issue, but certainly not ideal for a longer stay. The receptionist was very helpful, really great service.
Location is great to experience a little of downtown Jo'Burg, especially the Arts on Main market on a Sunday. This was why we stayed there, but I wouldn't stay there for any reason or recommend for a longer stay. Guess I'd give to separate ratings 5 for a single weekend night, 2 for a business stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.1 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 98 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Decades Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Decades Art Hotel

Property: 12 Decades Art Hotel
Address: 286 Fox Street JHB City, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 12 Decades Art Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With rooms conceptualised by some of South Africa's most celebrated Artists & Designers, 12 Decades traces the history of Johannesburg from 1886- 2006. Each decade has been interpreted by the individual designers to illustrate the most prominent features of the particular decade in Johannesburg's history. 12 Decades is part of the second development in the Maboneng Precinct, meaning “ Place of Light”. The development of this precinct forms part of a city improvement initiative by the development company, Propertuity. The Urban regeneration has been applauded by the City of Johannesburg, and as such, further developments are underway in the precinct, forming part of a vision to breathe new life into the old industrial area in the Eastern CBD.In addition to the 12 designer rooms, there are standard modern luxury hotel apartments for the not so adventurous to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 12 Decades Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing