We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of if not the best Steakhouse in South Africa”

The Grillhouse Rosebank
Ranked #3 of 1,208 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere. Please check our Facebook page for details of opening and closing times during the festive season and other holiday. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of if not the best Steakhouse in South Africa”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an exceptional steakhouse with an exceptional wine cellar and decent pricing internationally. The selection is good and basically if you go to a steakhouse have the steak but they seem to have pleased guests who want seafood. I've been going to this restaurant as my destination of choice for more years than I care to admit so one thing I can vouch for is their consistency and their service dedication (unlike many SA restaurants all the tips go direct to the waiters making them eager to please). Another plus is that the restaurant often serves until 10:30 or 11:00 pm and I'm not sure if this remains the case but Hyatt guests can sign their bill to the room.

For smokers food can be ordered outdoors of Katzy's a club next door belonging to the same group - weather permitting - which it often does in South Africa.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    433
    105
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Grill House in Rosebank.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good food. Well prepared. Nice choice on menu. Nice atmosphere.They certainly know how to do a good steak. I asked for mine rare and it was served exactly as I like it. Good value for money. Would go back without hesitation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 324500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have had the privilege to visit The Grillhouse a few times over the past couple of years and was not surprised to find out that they have been rated as one of the top steak restaurants in the world. Sadly this means that bookings are essential. I love the wood and leather look of the place and the food is undoubtably excellent. Dont forget to have a good bottle of wine with your meal which, if you are looking for something special, can be selected from their cellar. This is bucket list stuff for meat loving foodies

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Steak in town”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are regular customers at the Rosebank branch and always found that Service is great and speedy, atmosphere is nice, drinks are great, prices are good and above all food is great.
The steaks, we like it with the pepper and salt crusting/rubbing, are always divine and to perfection.
They also do great starters such as Springbok Carpaccio, mussels in wine sauce and great oysters and also their fish dishes are good.
All in all, for us the best Steak restaurant in town.
I think this is widely accepted as this place is busy every night.
Look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Steak house in Johannesburg”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is our favourite steak restaurant. We have been going to this restaurant for the last 10 years as a family and they never fail to deliver the best steaks and side dishes.

We go at least once a month for a meal at the Rosebank Grillhouse

Always book a reservation as they are mostly fully booked from a Monday to Sunday lunch.

Treat yourself to one of the best meals when visiting the Rosebank Grillhouse.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing