We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wingst, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Function dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My final flight as LUFTHANSA Captain took me to Johannesburg. I chose the Clico for my farewell dinner with the crew. Every part of our experience exceeded my expectations: The room was very nicely decorated, the food was superb and the staff was exceptionally friendly, courteous and efficient! I hope to return soon - then also to stay at the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued client,

We were honoured that you had your special function at our hotel and I know the staff loved dealing with you as well! Thank you for your kind feedback - we are delighted that you had such a nice and memorable function! We truly hope to welcome you back as an overnight guest sometime soon - until then we wish you all the best and say:

"Bis zum naechsten Mal!"

Warmest regards und mit freundlichen Gruessen,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
51
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in the Clio for two nights having never visited the centre of Joburg before. It was the perfect place to stay to explore the best of what Joburg has to offer. The staff were incredible, so accommodating at all times, going beyond their remit to help out. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. All in all, I highly recommend staying here. Im just sorry I missed the dinner!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bluejay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Warmest wishes,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to Clico for a business breakfast. This is such a gorgeous hotel, its clean and decor is beautiful...classy. The staff is so friendly, well trained and courteous!
The fruit salad for a 'starter' was a petit beautifully presented dish and the 'desert' scone and brownie was delicious!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatsFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Warmest wishes,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We recently enjoyed a food/wine pairing dinner at Clico, which was a lovely experience. The food was excellent, beautifully prepared and presented, and the wines paired with it had been chosen with care and matched the food perfectly. The patio outside of the restaurant is quiet and secluded despite the hotel being in the middle of Rosebank, and the restaurant itself is well appointed. The service was excellent, with the staff being friendly and knowledgeable about both the food and the wine. For a special evening out with friends, Clico can certainly be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear valued diner,

We are so pleased to read that you had such a lovely experience at our hotel. You captured our strong points so beautifully - thank you for mentioning them in your review! Naturally we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!

Warmest regards,
Sabine Seeger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Clico is always pleasant, the staff friendly and helpful and the food excellent.
The conference venue is well laid out, and set up with the necessary media to use for any type meeting, private lunch and is the best value for money and excellent quality in all that they do.
We didn't sleep over.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear valued client,

Thank you for appreciating our function facility, our food and service. We always love having you at Clico and we trust that we may welcome you back many times in the year 2014!

Warmest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had dinner at Clico for a birthday recently and it was exceptional. The service was outstanding, the food was delicious, the wine was great and the setting was lovely (we had drinks on the deck in the pretty garden before moving to the dining room for dinner). It was a very special evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear valued diner,

Your kind and positive feedback on your dining experience at Clico is greatly appreciated and motivates the Clico team a great deal! Thank you for your recognition and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We celebrated a birthday with a dinner at Clico. Wow. The staff are wonderful, friendly and very accomodating. The setting is gorgeous, a little bit of nature and calm very close to Rosebank centre. We sat on the deck at the pool for drinks before moving to the dining room. The food was truly amazing. A small menu that is changed daily but really out of this world. I had the beetroot and goats cheese ravioli for starters and the salmon for mains. Truly delicious.

Would highly recommend for a romantic dinner or for any special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear valued diner,

The Clico team was thrilled to read your kind review about our establishment, food and service! We are indeed pleased to hear that you had such a great time and truly hope that we may welcome you back to our little hotel in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
393 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Property: Clico Boutique Hotel
Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing