We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clico Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
$91
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$81
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
$318
$302
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
$196
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
182
38
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
38
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pairingrosebank mallgautrain stationhop on hop off bussmall hotelattention to detailunderfloor heatingwonderful stayown homefiletconference facilitiesstayed longercomfortable bedswent the extra milewalking distancebeautiful gardenan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 237 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very comfortable surroundings and well maintained. Excellent service and the food was absolutely magnificent - can recommnend. We needed a relaxed atmosphere without tables and chairs and they were able to deliver - had couches and comfortable chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BevCJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear valued client,

Clico does indeed have a very unique function space and we are delighted to read that your event was a success! Please come back again soon - we would love to host another of your events!

Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hat's off to Clico Boutique Hotel and all its staff. I stayed 10 nights on a recent business trip and was treated to chef-prepared dinners and breakfasts, a large and comfortable room, as well as friendly and helpful staff. The hotel's location in Rosebank was central to getting around Johannesburg.

Despite City Power's employee strike that caused a power outage throughout most of the city, the Clico staff quickly secured a generator to power the hotel off-grid so that I didn't miss a single warm shower. Clearly, the Clico is all about delivering the highest quality experience to its customers.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 which was great for a single business traveler as it has an open-concept bedroom/bathroom. Large room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Brandon,

Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out what makes Clico special. We try our best to have guests feel looked after and spoilt with good food. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again soon!

Warmest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Surely the best value for money accommodation in Gauteng! All the staff were extremely helpful and professional and went out of their way to make our anniversary extra special. We left feeling refreshed and well looked after.

Dinner was extraordinary! The butternut soup was more than a soup, it was an event!

I would recommend Clico Hotel for anyone that wants a quiet break within gauteng. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Tyron

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tyron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Tyron,

Thank you for your kind words about your experience and dinner you had at Clico. We try our utmost to spoil our guests with delectable cuisine and hope you will be back again soon so that we may spoil you with more culinary delights!

Warm regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Clico Boutique Hotel for a much-needed recharge and relax (I live nearby, but wanted a treat and some quiet time).
It's centrally located in the beautiful leafy suburb of Rosebank, and while it's quiet and tranquil, it's still very close to the shops and Gautrain station.
What I loved about my stay: Comfortable room with king-sized bed, satellite TV, magazines in the room, underfloor heating (I stayed on a chilly weekend), Charlotte Rhys toiletries, very friendly (but not overbearing) staff.
Another highlight was a divine breakfast, and the most amazing five-course dinner, paired with wine, served in my room (you can choose in-room dining, or dining room).

I left feeling so relaxed and renewed. I'd highly recommend it - whether it's for a stay, or a high tea, or a special dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear valued guest,

You have mentioned some stunning features about our hotel and thank you so much for noting them in your friendly review! I hope this was not the last time we may welcome you back to our hotel for some R&R time.

Warmest regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Clico and the personel are warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and well equiped. My compliments to their inhouse chef! It is also within walking distance from the Gautrain station. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at our establishment and trust we may welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews