We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I wanted to spoil my wife for our third anniversary, with an intimate stay over an as such, chose Clico. We had a very nice stay, but for the price & the five star rating, were exceptionally disappointed! The service from our waiter was very good, and again, for a five star rating, the rest was three star at best. The rooms were nice, but I expected more. Very average. The food was also nice, but the lack of selection and having soup served with a "skin" on it indicated that it was certainly not fresh and had been standing & my fillet also had to be returned as it was over cooked.
Breakfast was probably the biggest disappointment out of the lot. The offering left a lot to be desired. I know I seem to be carrying on about the rating and price, but that is what it is all about and because of it, you expect a certain level and I'm sorry to say that Clico, although nice falls very short. There are better priced establishments with a better offering than Clico if you are looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We were very saddened to read about your feedback and that your stay with us was a disappointment. We have always tried our utmost to spoil our guests with our attentive service and delicious cuisine and apologise to you, that in this instance we seemed to have failed you. Your comments on our dinner as well as our breakfast have been taken very seriously and will be addressed accordingly.

Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can invite you back and make things up to you. We would love to redeem ourselves - you are absolutely correct in expecting a certain level when paying a 5 star price and we wish to offer this to you upon your return, befitting to our usual standards.

I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the friendly staff greeting you when booking in, to a beautiful room and well kept garden. This is the place to stay. Close to Rosebank mall and Gautrain station. They will serve you with a stunning breakfast in the morning. Lunch and dinner are also available. Thanks to Sabine and the staff for making my stay perfect and going the extra mile. Well done.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andries_steyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback on our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great stay, just too short. Booked easily with 1 day's notice, easy to find, well located, tranquil setting despite being just off Jan Smuts Ave. Room great. Breakfast excellent! Great service. Liked the complementary wine in the room despite the minibar, went great with the small lemon tart waiting on the beside table when I came in late.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CathyD680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review! Although it was a short stay and we hope your next one with us will be a little longer, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the little Clico "touches".
Come back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Conveniently close to Rosebank and the Gautrain station, this boutique hotel will be the highlight of your business trip. Tastefully decorated rooms, and a well maintained garden makes it feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive words about our establishment. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What could be better than a warm, sunny winter's day; a beautiful, tranquil garden setting and a delicious lunch served by friendly and attentive staff. That's exactly what we enjoyed at Clico Boutique Hotel. Just couldn't believe we were in the heart of Joburg. Thanks to everyone at Clico for a perfect day, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tersia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear valued Guest,
Clico is indeed a little oasis amidst a bustling Rosebank. We were so delighted to read that you enjoyed our outdoors spaces which is ideal for sunny days! I hope we may welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stunning hotel specialising in personal service. Owner Jeanette and her staff are wonderful and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome . The attention to detail makes for an added bonus . We enjoyed a sumptuous meal in the restaurant and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanD182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear values guest,
Thank you so much for your positive words about our hotel and the team that runs it.
I hope we may welcome you back to Clico very soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently was fortunate to celebrate a birthday at this wonderful Hotel. Table was set beautifully out in the courtyard, service was efficient and friendly, and food and wine was amazing. One feels as though you are in someones home and not in a hotel which enables you to relax so much more. In fact this was a lunch party and everyone stayed the afternoon as we were so relaxed and made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank debbiecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your positive words about our hotel.
I hope we may welcome you back to Clico very soon - may it be for a stunning garden function or a romantic meal in our restaurant!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $123 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing