We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Joburg
2 reviews
“Last minute stay-over”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great stay, just too short. Booked easily with 1 day's notice, easy to find, well located, tranquil setting despite being just off Jan Smuts Ave. Room great. Breakfast excellent! Great service. Liked the complementary wine in the room despite the minibar, went great with the small lemon tart waiting on the beside table when I came in late.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CathyD680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review! Although it was a short stay and we hope your next one with us will be a little longer, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the little Clico "touches".
Come back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
55
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Conveniently close to Rosebank and the Gautrain station, this boutique hotel will be the highlight of your business trip. Tastefully decorated rooms, and a well maintained garden makes it feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive words about our establishment. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What could be better than a warm, sunny winter's day; a beautiful, tranquil garden setting and a delicious lunch served by friendly and attentive staff. That's exactly what we enjoyed at Clico Boutique Hotel. Just couldn't believe we were in the heart of Joburg. Thanks to everyone at Clico for a perfect day, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tersia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Clico is indeed a little oasis amidst a bustling Rosebank. We were so delighted to read that you enjoyed our outdoors spaces which is ideal for sunny days! I hope we may welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stunning hotel specialising in personal service. Owner Jeanette and her staff are wonderful and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome . The attention to detail makes for an added bonus . We enjoyed a sumptuous meal in the restaurant and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanD182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear values guest,
Thank you so much for your positive words about our hotel and the team that runs it.
I hope we may welcome you back to Clico very soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently was fortunate to celebrate a birthday at this wonderful Hotel. Table was set beautifully out in the courtyard, service was efficient and friendly, and food and wine was amazing. One feels as though you are in someones home and not in a hotel which enables you to relax so much more. In fact this was a lunch party and everyone stayed the afternoon as we were so relaxed and made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debbiecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your positive words about our hotel.
I hope we may welcome you back to Clico very soon - may it be for a stunning garden function or a romantic meal in our restaurant!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thanks to the management & staff of Clico for successfully providing a 10/10 birthday function. The attention to detail - from the setting to the menu to the presentation to the timing - all made for an unbeatable atmosphere of stylish celebration. The quality of the food was superb - a day to remember and repeat!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,
The team at Clico was delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a memorable function at our establishment. Please visit us again soon so that we can create more memories for you!
Warmest regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Kids had the most amazing party while at the same time the adults were served a 5 star outstanding lunch while sipping on Veuve Clicquo. Couldn't have wished for anything more. The service was incredible, so friendly yet professional and staff all looked so smart. One would never have said we were at a hotel. Atmosphere was so warm and friendly and party lingered on over cheese and wine by the fire. Most glorious day!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoodsFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 67 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Property: Clico Boutique Hotel
Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing