We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Mezepoli Meze Wine and Bar
Ranked #20 of 1,219 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Very good food though the mix of Greek and sushi is a bit odd (but delicious nevertheless). Service was fast and excellent and our only complaint was that we felt a bit rushed, as though they were clearing up quickly to get a new group to the table. Good cocktails and I Iiked the "honey badger".

Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    88
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mezepoli get it all right”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Vibey place in hot spot of Melrose Arch, delicious Greek food and offers some of the best sushi: thick pieces of salmon, good variety and affordable. The food got to us really quickly and the service is perfect (they bring the handwipes to you already open, useful if you're having their tasty chicken wings). Lastly, not many places in JHB offer you excellent cocktails at R40. They get it right on all counts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were up in jhb for the past week on business. This place can teach the rest about service. Excellent meze, quality of produce. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meze at a Differrent Level”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just the venue for a long leisurely Sunday lunch. Exquisite Meze, probably the best I have had for a long time. We sampled most of the menu and all was pronounced superb. Although part of the Plaka group the food is on a different level. Excellent service and good wine list. Festive crowd, mostly families all having fun. We will be back. Please open in Durban.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All but the Cherry”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

So i just had a man dinner with my son - brilliant food yiros, prawns, chorizo, humous and flat pita - all brilliant. And then . . . . I see a Green Label to finish off a fine dinner but alas not a full shot left dont worry - lets not tell the customer lets just top it up with Red Label and charge for the Green!!!! Bad Taste

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithMcKay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezepoli Meze Wine and Bar also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mezepoli Meze Wine and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing